Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

EXPURGET

by xodene - Jam Entry

EXPURGET is a fast paced 2D Arena shooter. You're a complex weapon designed to purge any life form that comes your way. Your creators have put you in an early isloated test to examine your power. The longer you survive, the more strength grows in your enemies. Can you survive the waves of vicious alien life forms until the difficulty level hits 50?

Controls: Left and Right arrow keys OR A + D

Art / Programming / Music by @xodene (Maximillian)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#585Audio(Jam)2.79
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00
#757Theme(Jam)3.38
#872Fun(Jam)2.68
#879Mood(Jam)2.61
#919Overall(Jam)2.83
#978Innovation(Jam)2.29

Comments

benjammin1391 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:01am

Gets real crazy real fast, my finger hurts from spam pressing :p Fun stuff!

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09am

I loved the art and design aspects!

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:12am

I wish they came in from the sides I want to kill more haha

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17am

Typo in the intro, "Plauge" instead of plague.

I liked the intro and the glitch style graphics.
I always stayed on the right side of the room, cause the left side enemies would sit on my head. I wish I could shoot faster, I feel like I have no way of avoiding damage because multiple enemies will come from a single direction and I need to wait for my cooldowns to fire again.

Nice music too.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:24am

Sorry can't check it on my mac :(

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40pm

funny game, well done

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Is the art hand painted? :P looks cool good game :D

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Thanks, it's actually vector art roughed up, then handpainted on my Wacom tablet.

Also I updated the entry to include the OS X build, let me know how it works!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Fun graphics. Music really sets the mood without being intrusive.

Jon Reid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Not bad, the health bar wasnt obvious so I had a hard time figuring out what my health was, but otherwise a solid effort with some nice art

utoxin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:04am

Thanks for the review on my game.

Your game is an interesting start, but I had a lot of issues with enemies getting stuck on me and having a hard time destroying them. Work on improving that, and you might have a fun little game.

TRAB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:44am

Crazy game. I love how different the art is, and the story leading up the gameplay was cool. The gameplay itself was a little random and imprecise for my tastes. The "It is trying to give up?" joke at the end was easily my favorite part. Nice work overall though!

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Reminds me of One Finger Death Punch. Interesting choice of art style;)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:38am

Nice graphics, and props on the soundtrack! I thought the character moved and shot too slowly though. Often enemies would hit me and do damage even if I was pointing in their direction. Maybe some sort of "bouncy platform" would have been cool, to add in another dimension of movement but still adhere to the 2 button constraint. Nice game overall!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:42am

Nice look, nothing too novel but pretty fun. I wish the map was bigger though. The sounds are a little much at times also.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:52am

Whoops sorry I meant those comments for another game. This is for yours:

I really liked the way meta dialogue in the beginning of this one. That combined with the unique color palette and aesthetic really lends character to what would otherwise just be a game about surviving an infinite onslaught.

Anyway, I dunno why you didnt include a humor rating bc that dialogue in the beginning was super clever and I'd give you a good humor score for that.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]