Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Best game LD 34 2015 version 5 *possible sequal to slug simulator*

by AntiMatterTape - Jam Entry

Uses both themes;

hey guys I'm a really big developer you may remember one of my games called "Slug simulator 1999 - Playable Teaser" its really big and stuff so I made this game for this jelly but i ran out of time at the end so I quickly made sure it mostly worked and polished up the graphics I thikn you will really like this game thanks you gusyu for your continued support and I have to hurry because tha jam ends in 5 minutes happy happy day and have some peanut butter with your game thanks guys


and maybe dont write your craZy fanfixion sabout this because I have not decided if the even ts th this game are cannon so just dont get too carasy with it alrighgt

ps: I just notice i still have an hour untill submiissions end but too late to change anything now you knwo how these CRAZY text box things work and all;

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#679Humor(Jam)2.33
#972Theme(Jam)2.87
#1024Graphics(Jam)1.33
#1048Innovation(Jam)1.67
#1096Fun(Jam)1.47
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51am

What is this? Pretty weird.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17am

your anime/not anime user icon is pretty weird.
WHAT DO YOU THINK THIS IS? RWBY?!?!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15pm

I am also proud to admit this game is 100% theme, also how do I change my user icon?

cescababs says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:09am

Not really one for me, its really difficult to control and rather blocky graphics but interesting concept

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:26am

It is a game or a simulator? Definitelly does not match the title. :)

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:50pm

I didn`t understand this game

Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:02pm

I did not understand your question @Riftpoint

Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:49pm

I like how you set it up so that any key on either side of the keyboard could be used to turn, and the growth effect was well implemented. Pretty funny description, too. The game itself was fun for a while, but ultimately there just wasn't a lot there.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:33pm

My favourite part is how well the screenshots on this page capture the key essence of the game. The bit when *SPOILER* Bob Ross shows up and shows the slug who's boss was probably the most exciting.

I'm really missing the difficulty from Slug simulator 1999 - Playable Teaser, though. That was a pretty hard challenge, but in this one, once you get past the Bob Ross section you're just too OP.

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Duh, fake screenshots?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]