Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Almighty Spectrum

by KoalaBot - Compo Entry

The Almighty Spectrum is a 2d platformish game about returning color to the world!

This was my fist Ludum Dare, and I didn't quite know what to expect. I really enjoyed it, and am very pleased with how my entry turned out.

Miraculously, I managed to scope it perfectly for the time constraints, and was able to get everything in and working just how I wanted. (Although some areas of the code definitely reflect the crunch).

I spent the week brainstorming the themes, and otherwise prepping to compete. Then, an hour before the Compo started, my hard drive failed! I thought I was out of luck, but managed to get a little bit done on my laptop while my desktop restored from backup. About 4 hours into the competition, it was ready to go, but I had already gone to bed.

I've never animated before, and was really nervous about it -- I knew that if I wasn't able to create some decent art, I'd lose my motivation really quickly! But my wizard turned out pretty well on my first try, and set me off to a good start!

After animating my wizard, I hadn't quite nailed down any gameplay ideas, and just decided to get him on the screen and walking around. Too lazy to animate the camera, I just had him walk back and forth across the screen. This turned out to be a huge inspiration, and I ended up using it in the finished game.

Leftover from the "Four Elements" theme, I ran with the idea for the wizard to be a master of the "Color" element. I had pictured a gray, drab world, which the wizard was to colorize during his adventures, a la Epic Mickey. I quickly realized I didn't have enough time to create a bunch of shaders, and scoped it down to its final iteration.

Overall, I really enjoyed my first Ludum Dare! I'm excited to rate other games, receive feedback, and try again next time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#153Fun3.64
#169Audio3.40
#204Humor3.02
#227Overall3.58
#252Graphics3.56
#254Mood3.32
#478Innovation3.16
#514Theme3.69

Comments

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:02pm

:) quite fun

jarrrgh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:03pm

I like the level transition and the colorful look.

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Fun little time waster! Gets a bit repetitive, though.

simoroshka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10pm

I really like the idea! The mechanics are quite fun, although I don't think that 2 buttons suit this type of game. It ends quite abruptly for some reason.

teamross says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Cool idea!
I liked the simple and fun mechanics.
Nice art too! good job : )

r8berto says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Final score 867 on stage 23 :D. Had a really good time playing it, jumping on the slimes feels really good. Nicely done!

rockford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:53pm

I like! Rainbow island powered!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Simple and fun mechanics

ripatti says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Simple and fun. Very like the music. But all levels are identical, so it's funny for not so long time.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:57pm

awesome! my favourite thus far, reminds me of old nintendo games, well done :)

SadSmile says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Fun game! Gets a little bit repetitive but this would be an easy fix with adding different enemies and stage types.

Could see this as a good mobile title ^^

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:35pm

haha, the game is so stupid (no offense, in a good way) and so pleasurable :)
Like it, great job!

dmecke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Nice arcade game. I like the story behind it.

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Smooth :)

dj_pale says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:35pm

A little bit more work on the jumping physics would have been good. The punishment for being hit isn't too harsh. Other than that - fun little game.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:45pm

The change to colour after winning a level is very charming and cute.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Love that little dance he does!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:06am

I really enjoyed this game. It's very simple, but the atmosphere gives it a great feeling. Thanks for putting this together!

Aumni says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:55am

It's hard ! Interresting mechanics, does fit really well with the theme

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:28am

Very Fun. Final Score: 667.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:21am

Pretty fun, I liked the music and the idea. Very innovative. Well done! c:

euske says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:55am

I liked the jingle when finished a level.

alyphen says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:52am

This had a really nice arcade-style feel to it. It took a couple of seconds to grasp the concept, but once I did, I was playing for a little while. It needs some sort of competition though, maybe local multiplayer or online highscores, to add replayability.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]