Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

It's a Big World Afterall

by JohnLivingston - Jam Entry

In "It's A Big World After All" you play as Clarissa, a girl thrown into a world that grows with every step she takes. Can you find the way home?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#170Graphics(Jam)4.09
#299Mood(Jam)3.48
#314Innovation(Jam)3.41
#395Audio(Jam)3.23
#647Humor(Jam)2.41
#682Overall(Jam)3.14
#790Theme(Jam)3.32
#896Fun(Jam)2.64
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

thesnake91 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:11pm

duude, i love the cartoony look it's pretty nice, gameplay isn't that special though

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Interesting idea, trippy art, I like it!
The movement could have been a bit better though, it's very rigid.

Wicked7000 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Great game! Could do with some innovative gameplay but I still think its a great entry

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:22pm

At first, the aesthetic is just beautiful with an amazing mood. I liked the background and the way you imagine this world. The music is pleasant. However, the controls are really awkward. This game would be fantastic if you could change completely the platformer engine. Keep the spirit, change the code. I would like to see another version. Well done ++

daveh says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Wonderful concept and use of the theme. The growing levels work perfectly. I'd love to play a full game with this concept and art-style.

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Well, that was certainly one of the weirder entries. The music kinda drives me insane after a while :P

Nice gameplay concept, though it usually ended up being frustrating that after failing a jump, you couldn't really try again until you restarted because you shrunk too much.

dkilford says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:39pm

I really like the aesthetic for the game, but I had issues sometimes figuring out whether props were part of the background or something I could jump on.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Impressive graphics and the intro music is just awesome!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Though platforming wasn't comfortable

Ithildin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:26am

The atmosphere here has a surreal touch that I really like. Gameplay felt a bit bland, but the concept was also a very clever interpretation of the theme. Nice work!

carlsommer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:01am

Absolutely gorgeous! It got pretty tricky for me, but I can imagine there can be some really great level designs based around this mechanic.

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:44am

Love the art style. Very polished for such a short period of time. Exceptionally innovative and unique game mechanic (ties into the theme very well). Levels were exceptionally frustrating, that's like because I suck though. Great Job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]