Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tile Breaker Revolution

by lXxGarrisonxXl - Compo Entry

|| Tile Breaker Revolution ||

Listen to an original Euro Club Banger track while guiding your Player Ball around a level that's exploding with particle goodness. This track is bound to get stuck in your head and this game is bound to leave an imprint on your heart. Can you break over 200 tiles and complete the game? Only time will tell.

(RUNS MOST SMOOTHLY IN DOWNLOADED APPLICATIONS)

Theme: 2 Buttons

1. CLICK to spawn tiles
2. Press SPACE to change directions

Game: Unity C#
Music: Logic X
Art: Pixen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#7Audio4.28
#149Overall3.71
#175Mood3.47
#191Fun3.58
#199Innovation3.64
#683Theme3.46

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35am

Awesome game. Sweet track too.

walaber says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:06am

interesting idea. very difficult to control!

Mr. Magma says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12am

A very fun experience that capture the theme very well! Challenging (a little too challenging sometimes, but I'm terrible at games).

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:17am

Great game! Very challenging to go where you want to go.

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:19am

Very interesting control scheme, although it starts getting finicky when you're trying to hit a specific block. The song is quite polished. Impressive to see a song with vocals in a compo entry :D

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:27am

If you get stuck then try using the boost with SPACE. It can help to push you in the right direction (I'm very happy you like the song! I spent like 5 hours on it this morning lol)

mlepage says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:50am

Interesting. Music is nice. Sound effects could be improved.

It wasn't clear to me at first that "change direction" had the boost countdown timer. Or that some squares could no longer be clicked on. But I figured it out.

Perhaps make the initial section easier as more of a tutorial (easy first level).

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:54am

Nice interesting game... The physics for the ball gets weird sometimes though! :)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:55am

Really nice soundtrack, like you said! Unfortunately, I broke the game by embedding the ball in the wall too deep for a boost to help. Oh well.

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:47am

Cool game. I'm not very good at it, but I like it.

Nice audio track too!

Bemmu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:11am

One of the most fun entries, despite the sometimes illogical-seeming physics. Somehow I would expect this to be frustrating, but there was something satisfying about trying to get the ball to go where you want while having only very imperfect control of it.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Interesting, kinda hard. nice sound. Good entry :)

Kakureta says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Sweet game. Very innovative ;)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16am

Hey everyone! I added links to download actual builds of the game because it's more fun in a standalone app. Enjoy

Jwatt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55am

ZAT IS NOT HOW MOMENTUM VÖRKS. ZAT IS NOT HOW ANY OF DIS VÖRKS.

More seriously, having the camera follow the ball all the time makes the screen a bit too active. Unfortunately, my run ended by getting stuck inside a wall.

Now it's just me and this music... forever.

Patellaport says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:25am

Fun game. I like the concept of a fresh take on a tile breaker. The song is really good too. Keep up the good work!

blohod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:02am

windows download needs a data folder. I then played and enjoyed the web version on internet explorer up until the part when I went inside a wall, the black bit.
judged on stream at http://www.twitch.tv/meep706, watch the highlight to see me play

logon13 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Very unique game. Somehow I got stuck back in the first box. Not sure how

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Really nice gameplay. I absolutely love the whole "pinball on speed"-gameplay and it was very challenging while also rewarding once you got the grove going.

Audio was also absolutely amazing and really worked with that you were trying to do.

Only downside was that I think you might have to look over collisions a little bit more. Ended up going through a wall and got stuck bouncing inside it, once I had reached enough speed and had to restart.

All in all pretty fun experience :).

richardboegli says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:03am

Well done. It was fun to play.

Music track was good.

Speed of gameplay was good.

emmes says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:27am

Nice idea, but I can't really get the controls. Nice tune, reasonable graphics, but with a lot of aliasing that hurts the eyes (at least the web version).

Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:25am

This game is great! We made a game review of Tile Breaker Eevolution on our YouTube Channel. Check it out! :) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=12hurMpT3aU&index=1&list=PLu-kOSGdBP-iZpmm17tewj2F0U2T5NF9k

Jan 9, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Really nice audio! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/yY4Ylj7ccuc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]