Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

How I Rolled your Snowball: The Ultimate Simulator

by vetch - Jam Entry

A simple, yet very addictive game.
We aimed at both themes, yet the pause button may have ruined the "two button control".
You play as a snowball, rolling down the hill, absorbing everything smaller standing in your way. Don't hit things bigger than you, as they will stop your roll. Beware: the bigger your ball is, the less control you have over it.
Can you reach the avalanche at 500 meters?

moving: right/left arrows
pause: p

Enjoy!




Made entirely in Phaser Framework:
http://phaser.io/

Dev: Vetch & Chenkof
Gfx: A. Kraszewska, Kirill Krysov
Sfx: Johan Brodd

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#71Theme(Jam)4.26
#434Fun(Jam)3.24
#513Audio(Jam)3.00
#651Humor(Jam)2.40
#775Mood(Jam)2.85
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#840Innovation(Jam)2.63
#857Graphics(Jam)2.69

Comments

dekart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:53pm

The concept is actually very interesting and could be vey well suitable for a small mobile game. Collision detection, however, could be improved - trees seem to destroy the ball when visually they're now even closely touched.

I'd be glad to see this game polished and released as a small title - it has a great potential.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:08am

Nice entry. Personally I felt the snowball grew too slowly, making it grow faster would give more of an arcade feel I think. I also found it started getting "jerky" the further I got (maybe it was just lag I don't know). Overall cool concept. With some polish would make a nice little game.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:18am

Fun little game...
Ran into trees that weren't touching me, I assume they have rectangle hitboxes...

kernel panic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Good game, but something really needs to be done about those hit boxes, because they are too big for the images.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Nice, but I've got low framerates in this games
Kind of reminded me old Skifree game on windows :)

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:28pm

+ Nice music.
+ Good idea for a game.

- When you die and press "P" the score freaks out.
- Collision could have been better.
- Title screen freaks out after death.
- Small screen.

Aerohand says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:51am

awesome work! i love it!

daveh says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:41pm

"Misc" is a pretty vague term. It's not clear what it applies to at first. It was fun and used both themes well. I liked how it progressed. Later on the performance really took a dive which hindered playability quite a bit. Nice music!

Echo Team says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:27am

Nice concept, but it wasn't really playable for me.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:28am

The idea is good and it fits both themes. However, we think the collisions could be better. The audio, also, doesn't match it very well. We think it would be really fun if faster, but good entry anyways!!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:26am

No source code? :\

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:05pm

The heaps of snow look a bit too similar to the ground so it's kinda hard to see. Game was also very laggy for me so it wasn't easy to play.

psychonull says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Nice game. Cool idea and pretty adictive. There are some things that can be improve, like the collisions, but it's fun game overall. Good job!!

gallerdude says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Simple and fun. Learned far too late that tress aren't misc :(

Larzan says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:59pm

Interesting concept and setting, you should try to polish it a bit more and publish it as a mobile game, that might be fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]