Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

YesNo Zen

by Borodar - Compo Entry

YesNo - simple zen game with "Two Button Controls". The game will show you math equations, and you have to decide whether they are true or not.

Time is limited, complexity "Grows" (yep, i'm trying to argue to second theme :), so how quickly can you solve them?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#75Audio3.76
#175Mood3.47
#346Theme3.89
#375Humor2.60
#397Graphics3.25
#430Overall3.30
#575Fun3.03
#735Innovation2.69

Comments

vlprof says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:37am

Very interesting and challenging game which develops a strong calculation skills. Spen a very enjoyable time playing it. Good work!

ProgramGamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:24am

Cool education game. And respects the theme, nicely done!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54am

Fun little game. Very zen until you get one wrong, haha.

XbooperxdX says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:00am

despite the simplicity, it can actually be really tough. That timer really pushes you to work faster, and even though this is just math equations, its still a great game! Well done! I enjoy the music as well.

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:05am

Great challenging little game, the music is amazing by the way! ^_^

paraboxx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:10am

Very relaxing, until you make a mistake :-D

Borodar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01am

Thanks guys :)

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14am

I like the music, soothing while I'm frantically getting basic math problems wrong.

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:29am

I felt really proud of my math skills until I lost, haha. The music was nice too. Did it take long to compose?

You get a star for using GitHub. ;P

Borodar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:42am

@danbolt, not so long, like hour or two, because it was not actually composing. I've used FL studio, a dosen of loops, arpeggiator and few mixer presets :)

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:23am

Smooth graphics and music; great mood. Hits the two button theme in a straightforward way and suitable way.

recursor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Nice game. It's surprisingly challenging to keep your concentration and click the right button.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Nice educational game. Spent time with it. Good theme.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:06pm

oh man, it's sort of pathetic how bad I am at math haha, this was a fun little quiz game though, and nice music, good job!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:52pm

I got semi jumpscare when I was focused on calculating and suddenly clicked wrong answer. The lose sound was so heart striking >_<
Liked the game concept and graphics!

davesoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Cool game, would fit in perfectly as brain training :D

loxo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Simple games are the best. Your game is fun to play and fits the theme(s). I like the idea and the mood created by the music very much. I would like to see keyboard control added instead of mouse only.

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Nice calming game... right up until you get one wrong!

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:09am

Very nice presentation and relaxing game. Even though I'm bad at math, I enjoyed it. As I said on the stream, I wish the sound for failure wasn't as harsh, as it does take the player out of the whole "zen" feeling that you're trying to create.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Best game I've ever played! Beautiful music is relaxing and hypnotic during the game. I liked the sounds affect the game. Good luck!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Maths?! You call that zen?? My poor tired brain! Anyway, nice stuff there!

MakerArt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:40am

I'm worth mathematic ever.. It is pleasure to see complete game here, all working fine.

canon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:39am

Simple but polished! I liked the little effects, like the button explosions and the fading text. Kind of expected some gag to happen when I clicked "No" for "want to play" at the start. :p Music is really soft and gets me in the zone, but boy does that error sound snap you out of it lol

My first two equations were both 1x1=1, so I was confused for a bit waiting for another one to appear!

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:33am

Very relaxing game due to the music. Maybe at a buffer to how many times you can go wrong, because starting over with only one mistake feels a bit harsh on the later levels.

Well done!

gBouckaert says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:57am

Cool, nice take on the theme. It's a nice deviation from other games, I could be playing this for a long time.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]