Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Nature's Will

by Troma - Jam Entry

Our first Ludum Dare!

OBJECTIVE:
Purify the corrupted tree whilst protecting the oldest tree in the forest. Get water and seeds to expand your forest and build your defenses.

CONTROLS:
X to open plant's menu and to select current choice.
Z for rotation and movement or to swap between plants on the plant's menu


OBS: If you are going full screen, you may have to test out to find an optimum resolution for your screen.

TECHNOLOGY AND TOOLS:
-Unity3D
-3DSMax(For all models and animations)
-Photoshop (For all textures)
-Fork, paper, drum, cup, glass, stick (For instrument recording and sampling)
-Audacity (For sound refinement)
-LMMS (To compose music and sfx)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#555Graphics(Jam)3.38
#602Audio(Jam)2.74
#715Humor(Jam)2.27
#757Innovation(Jam)2.76
#774Theme(Jam)3.35
#823Mood(Jam)2.73
#901Overall(Jam)2.85
#1024Fun(Jam)2.33

Comments

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12am

Seems to be well made, but the controls are extremely annoying to use, and feel kind of tacked on. I would have enjoyed it much more if you had left the Two Button Control theme off of this game.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:14am

I like the music!

timeshapers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:19am

The game is fun and interesting, a sort of plants vs zombies, but with more dynamic control.
I fear, however, you've forced the two button control onto this game. The game doesn't really benefit from it, and the game design does not seem to have been guided by the theme.
I would have a lot more fun with this game if the controls were easier.

mr. a says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:19am

Wish there was a mac build -- it looks neat!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:20am

I really like the base concept of this game. It is sort of like a combination tower defense and RPG. However, it is not very fun to play because it is sort of hard to control.

The main two problems are that it is not very intuitive to control the direction or movement of the player, and that is isn't very easy to tell what is selected when planting something.

I think the stopping/starting mechanism of player movement simply doesn't really work because it doesn't give you quick and simple control over the player's movement. The other main problem is that it is difficult to select the direction of movement by rotating.

The only other real problem is that sometimes the camera blocks the view.

In terms of a first entry, this game is actually really awesome. It has full 3D graphics and a map and storyline. The only problem is that I think it doesn't really work with this theme - the theme of two button controls sort of was the root cause of the control issue.

In fact, this game probably would have been pretty easy to control if you had stuck with only the growing theme.

All that being said, I do still like this game simply because the idea is really cool - as I said, a combo tower defense / RPG, which personally I think would be pretty awesome.

LordKawaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52am

This game has a lot of depth and seems like it could be really fun but sticking to the two button theme really takes away from it.

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:57am

I found the music to be a little bit annoying and repetitive, but after I lost and restarted, the music was playing twice!

The controls felt like they were limiting the game, but the gameplay was alright. With some polish, this could be a pretty cool game.

gillenew says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:59am

very cool, a bit hard to play with these controls :D

there should be a training time to get skill with these buttons, or have a button to move and another to plant (left mouse button moves to the place where you click, and right button opens the buying plants) but overall're fun, and quite liked the idea.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Creative use of two button controlls, although moving around is tricky to get used to. I like tower defense-ich games where you can move around and take more active role in game. Cool game with nice vibe!

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:14pm

For some reason, I could not build the plant to expand the green area, which means I stayed stuck at the starting area. I felt like the two button control theme was very poorly used, as you had a good idea that required more than two button and then tried to reduce it to an annoying control scheme just to fit the theme.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:00pm

It took some times to master the mechanics, but that's not a bad thing) You did a huge amount of work in a short time, congratulations!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:34am

Definitely impressive for the time, but I'll echo that two button controls were a bad idea here.

Galan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:38am

I like the look of this game, but there were a couple of problems, in addition to the controls that other people have mentioned, that bugged me. One was the way that the tree could block your view (which exacerbated the control problems). The other was that there was no time to be eased into the game. There was a wall of information at the beginning, and then you get thrown in without really understanding it. I think perhaps the idea was too big for a jam game.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:47am

Good game. But did you use the standard shader comes with Unity? That's not really great. You might want to try other, they will make your game more beautiful

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:03am

Neat idea, and very big scope for an LD jam game. The work you did with the graphics was awesome! Having multiple rigged 3d models with unique character is a lot of work!

The balance might be a little off. Once I had made 5 plants, I was pretty much invincible, and I couldn't find a way to expand my grass after that. I couldn't build any more plants, and the enemies all died very quickly.

I like what you did with the theme, but the controls were a little unintuitive.

I think it would have been better to have mouse only controls. Mouse 1 = point where you go. Mouse 2 = open menu. Mouse 1 inside menu = choose selection. Mouse 2 in menu = close menu. With that one touch I think this game would have been awesome! I suggest you continue with the game after the jam, implement better controls, and try to release an updated version!

Also, if you die and try again, the music loops over itself. Just a small glitch, but it actually had a bit of a cool effect on the sound.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Moving around with only one button is quite hard. The different kinds of plants to grow are very nice, but there should be a tutorial to get to know them (i forgot what they do by the time the game had started). I enjoyed the graphics and sound design. All in all a good entry.

Congrats on you first jam ;) Cheers!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Pretty neat !

marveus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:11am

I was really impressed by the models and graphics given the time allotted for the jam - and especially for your first jam. The sound was pleasant at first, but as others have stated it got a bit stale over time. Overall, the game has a lot of potential, so great work.

I definitely thought it was a novel use of the theme with the controls, but the way they were implemented was a little wonky. I kept being confused why I couldn't travel beyond the area surrounding the tree, even though the game implies there are objectives to capture and so on. Just seems like a current limitation though.

It was also a bit frustrating when the plants above would block the view. But again, overall, great work.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:58am

Unplayable on full screen.

The controls are bad. You forced one button to make a 4 button movement and failed.

I gave up on 30 seconds of playing on frustration.

vitorlanna says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:09am

With different controls, the game could be pretty fun! I liked how you included guaraná. The shader used in the game isn't very nice though. Also, if you continue the game after the jam, it would be nice to unlock new plants one by one, so you can learn to use each one and also to get a better sense of progress / achievement.

gloim says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:03am

neat game but I agree, the controls dont really fit. :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]