Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Frog Well

by g12345 - Jam Entry

My first Ludum Dare game.

It's based on an very old game, but in this one, a frog has fallen down a well and needs to jump back up.

You win if you're reached the top. The stars give points.

Use the left and right arrows to jump. When he's falling he can't jump, but he can change direction otherwise.

If you get stuck, backspace will reset the room.

No audio for now.

I don't know what else to say here.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#403Theme(Jam)3.79
#482Humor(Jam)2.70
#490Mood(Jam)3.24
#542Innovation(Jam)3.11
#619Fun(Jam)3.03
#686Graphics(Jam)3.12
#772Overall(Jam)3.03

Comments

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Fun little jumping game. Crisp simple graphics, looks like he stayed in scope for LD (mostly? : )

If you get stuck with bad movement falls, just reload the page.

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:34pm

I like it. The graphics are great and it's pretty fun. good job!

Farelle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:28pm

oh wow, it took me a bit to figure out that i can change direction in mid air :D I must be still tired hehe.
So NOW I can say I actually like this game :D It's simple, it's randomly generated(i think) it's challenging, it has a straight forward goal and it feels fun to see the character jump-flying over the screen :D
only thing I couldn't figure out is A. why I have a giant hole in my belly or B. why there is birds/flies flying into my mouth o.o
Also, one of my favourite games as a child was "icy tower" and this game has the potential to be similar addicting, just add some sparkles and sounds to it :D

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:55am

Once I realized that you're not trying to jump from platform to platform, but rather that you can basically fly infinitely and change directions at will, this got quite addicting! Backspace isn't the best button for a web game, as some browsers will interpret it and go back a page. If you keep working on this and massage the platform generation to provide more pathways designed to be traversed by the frog's diagonal flight path, this could get even better. Great work!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:57am

Great fun little game.

euske says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:23am

This game is hard. After a dozen trials, I couldn't still win. I liked the old school graphics.

Oski says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Damn difficult!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Some little assets, so much fun! Well done, I liked how I could change direction in mid-air!

Jwatt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:42am

This control scheme combined with a noisy level type is quite a frustrating experience, really. It seems like an obvious case of a design issue when the player spends nearly half of the game time in an input-blocking state.

Some fixes would include the frog grabbing onto ledges when hitting blocks from the side, or a slower movement in general for more precise left-right mid-air twiddling.

As it is, this felt more like fighting against a software's quirks than playing something, unfortunately.

ohmmus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:10am

Lots of fun! Finally beat it with a score of 130. Great work!

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:28am

Wait.. you can do WHAT mid air?? That changes the game a lot :). Finally was able to escape.

voxel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:33am

Wee. I really like this. With some algorithmic level generation to reduce the number of stuck spots this would be a great little phone game. Great work

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:35am

This is so simple but so enjoyable when you can actually fly through an open space. The flies were a nice touch.

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:37pm

This is one of those games that would greatly be made better by an extra day to fine tune. When the platforms are set up right, it is a pretty fun game. I found that more times than not, my frog would simply get stuck in a place where he could not jump out of.
I really liked the extra touches, like the flies. The retro frog if fun. Great job.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Certain stars simply did not want to be picked up for some reason. Cool frog. Consistent style, some simple sfxr sounds would have really completed it. Nice first entry!

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:51pm

I did it! I thought you were supposed to collect all the stars at first, but then I gave up because some of them seemed too hard to get. Did the flies do anything? I couldn't tell if my score was going up when I ate them.

One thing that I think would have made it a little less frustrating would be to have less blocks being placed. Often I felt like it was just luck that let me skip ahead by a big chunk.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:44pm

I feel the old style, a bit too difficult.

phi says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Like it :)
Sounds would be cool (jumping sounds, music, etc.).
I agree with the other comments, there are too many blocks.

Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Cute game, it reminds me of the 8-bit game Boogaboo. I like the presentation, simple but effective. A bit frustrating, but the difficulty level seems OK. I managed to make it to the top. What do the birds do? They seem to disappear into the frog's mouth :-)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Too bad there's no sound but I like the concept a lot (although it takes some time to master) plus the retro graphics fits the game very well.

SamH says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:51am

Interesting but I found myself stuck a bit too often. Maybe the platforms should be slightly wider? (Also, since some browsers intercept the Backspace key to browse back to the previous page, you may wish to use another key such as Escape to reset the level)

munchor says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:51pm

So simple, yet so addictive, I really liked it.

camlang says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Nice little game. It would be cool, if you add some sfx to your game. However, very good entry! Well done!

dollarone says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Great graphics and cool gameplay. Took me forever to figure out that you can switch direction mid-air, but once that was done, I managed to get out :)

Awesome stuff.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:12pm

I like that frog.

Linus123xbb says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:38pm

The game was cool. Too bad there was no music. It was hard to control the frog. However the graphics suited the game nicely.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]