Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Feed the Queen

by sitronTe - Compo Entry

Gather flowers to feed the queen! She likes 'em predigested, so store those flowers in your belly. While snacking, you will find yourself growing slightly. But no worries! After giving the queen her share, you will be back to normal!

Two buttons to control: A to move up, and S to stick out tongue. Can also press left and right side of game to achieve same effect, just in case you are on a tablet.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#83Humor3.56
#311Theme3.93
#543Audio2.50
#667Fun2.89
#708Mood2.63
#742Overall2.93
#760Innovation2.64
#815Graphics2.39

Comments

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:22pm

This is funny, haha, No enough food, I'll eat you!

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:25pm

There's too much inertia on the controls, so it's a bit hard.

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Good game, sometimes the collision detection on the tongue didn’t hit the flower but other than that it was good.

scottrick says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:32pm

really like art!

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35pm

It's kinda' like a more intense version of a side-scrolling flyer. Awesome! :)

Zetym says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Felt a bit sluggish, and the text was really hard to read. Otherwise quite nice.

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Real funny 'gulp' sound. :D And I liked how the thing got fatter when you ate more. :D

rockford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:20pm

A fun and playable Flappy bird :) nice work

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:04pm

cute game

brainstorm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Innovation 3/5: Not reslly innovative mechanics, but I liked that you die if you don't take some flowers.

Fun 2/5: Near impossible because of the controls and the tongue animation.

Theme 5/5: Growing weight is an original theme. I'll forgot the typic use of the two buttons one ;)

Graphics 4/5: A bit blurry sprites, liked the queen sprite.

Audio 3/5: Simple soundtrack and a few sound effects. Liked a lot the death sound.

Humor 5/5: Hilarious game, liked the hand-written letter at the start and queen canibalism habits. NO ENOUGH FOOD, I'LL EAT YOU!

Mood 1/5: Not really worked that part. Not necessary though.

Overall 3/5: A bit rushed game. Humor parts are the best of the game.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:34am

It was ok
It felt like the queen was moving too slow. I liked how she became more bloated as time went on. The hand written notes were a nice touch.

lonewookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Pretty fun actually! I like the way the body moves up and down. And the tongue is a nice feature to get some far away bugs.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:31am

Solid mechanics, a bit simple. The difficulty ramps up a little fast though.

Nicolas Gass says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:35pm

nice game xD.

KanedaXIII says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Not a bad idea for a game, and game mechanics, but controls felt a bit sluggish, and the sounds are dull, some music could help too.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]