Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Wobblez

by jackycute - Jam Entry

Wobblez is a tree growing game.

You only need left and right arrow keys.
Control the sun to let the tree grows to corresponding directions.

Against the wind, and bump into the sun!
This game will ends in 2 mins (if you survive).

Please use Chrome to play this game.

We tried to make a music rising with the tree.
Download links is below.

Contribute to Max, Morshues, discorick, Rex

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#116Theme(Jam)4.16
#240Audio(Jam)3.50
#562Innovation(Jam)3.08
#577Mood(Jam)3.14
#632Overall(Jam)3.20
#753Humor(Jam)2.16
#764Graphics(Jam)2.96
#791Fun(Jam)2.80

Comments

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24am

I like it. Very relaxing. I love the little sprouts as the tree grows. And the music is fantastic!

Also, I really enjoyed reaching the top. Good work!

flakoflak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24am

good idea, total mess when you lose. ;P

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:14am

Would have loved a score showing how many cubes you have stacked. Great game :D

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Great concept and audio!
The effect of wind blowing is good!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Really liked the music, fitting with the rhythmic nature of the game. It's a little simple for my taste, but I do think the game is well-balanced, giving enough tell to make calculated decisions. Good job!

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:04am

Solid game, especially the sound and visual package.

danbolt says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:07am

The rhythm worked out really well, combining the gameplay and music. I liked that a lot!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:07am

Pretty great! I think it worked well, all the elements tied together to create a nice experience.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]