Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Parcube

by Spartan Plume - Jam Entry

Hi,

Here a platormer game for speedrun.
The game is on Linux and you need pygame for now and Windows.

Linux:
To install pygame:
-for Arch : yaourt -S python-pygame
-for Debian/Ubuntu: sudo apt-get install python-pygame
To launch the game, use ./start.py

Windows:
Launch start.exe

You are a cube and you need to reach the end the most rapidly possible if you can.
You have 3 abilities in total : go to left, go to right, jump; but you have only 2 of these abilities at one time.
At the start, you play with left arrow and right arrow. When you reach a burgandy zone, your 2 new keys are shown on the screen.

Good luck, have fun !

Music :
- 777 (Nomina) : http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Nonima/
- Lol u died

Graphics :
- Spike by Arnaud Jomard
- Keyboard keys : http://www.techonthenet.com/clipart/keyboard/
- Keyboard arrows : http://www.freepik.com/free-vector/arrow-keys-vectors_558586.htm#term=keyboard%20arrow&page=1&position=1

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2073Coolness26%

Comments

couver_v says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Great game !! But it makes me mad !

kernel panic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:07pm

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH! THIS GAME IS SO EVIL! Seriously, there needs to be checkpoints. This game is so HARD! But otherwise, it's a great game.

Geti says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Dont have a linux install around to play it, sorry.

kernel panic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:15pm

... You just had to make us use Alt and F4 at some point... didn't you. My window manager doesn't even use that, but it still works.

Evil.

utgarda says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:11am

Nice retro, you can turn it into a keyboard training :)
Guys, seriously, you got to give Windows people a chance. Doesn't pygame work on Win/Mac? Also, please include an installation instruction, even if it is just installing pygame. Things like `pip install --allow-external pygame` didnt work for me, found it in repos instead.

Spartan Plume says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:44pm

I'm going to put a windows link. It was just that i didn't have the time but this is week-end is the time to put a windows link. =)

Kvyosh says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Awesome but hardcore game and I love that, maybe my masochist side!
Need a windows version and we're good.

Solifuge says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:25am

I really liked the core mechanic here! Shifting controls are a pretty cool twist for the Frustratingly Difficult Troll Platformer genre. I dig it.

The LOL U Died song was a nice touch. Just rub some salt into that wound, game. Thanks for putting this together!

Karatorian says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:39am

Very hard, but a solid effort.

radmars says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:54am

Nice! The concept of changing controls is really cool and a nice use of the theme. The fact that platforms don't carry you is pretty frustrating though, then it got really hard so I didn't get much past that part :P Would like to see this with a bit of a smoother difficult progression. Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]