Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tinder for Dinosaurs

by marveus - Jam Entry

Ludum Dare 34 entry for theme of "Two Button Controls":

Its the Cretaceous period, and you are having a hard time finding a date with other dinosaurs. You decide Use the "Lizrd" app to find potential matches. As you progressively get hungrier, you realize that this app would actually be a great way to find a meal!

Open up the "Lizrd" app and look through the singles in your area! Press "Yes" if you feel the match is smaller and weaker than you, so you can meet up with them and gobble them up. Otherwise press "No".

Just be careful! After 4 days, you could starve to death if you don't find any food!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#34Humor(Jam)4.05
#356Theme(Jam)3.84
#428Innovation(Jam)3.26
#464Fun(Jam)3.21
#757Overall(Jam)3.05
#800Mood(Jam)2.78
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:17am

Windows download does not link to the public shared file. Please check the file permissions in Dropbox, and make sure that: a) everyone with the link can see the file and b) you've copied the public share link.

LavWa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:56am

You game look funny man, but the web link is not working. I cant really rate it now, but it seem cool, nice use of the theme :)

marveus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Thanks for letting us know that the link was broken. We updated the link so it should be working now!

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:21am

This was weird and funny lol =P

KZdev says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:33am

This game is so funny.
"I put the 'Ass' in Jurassic"
And Barney is my soulmate apparently? LMAO
Good job!

walaber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:58am

fun (and funny). silly but enjoyable premise, and the writing and imagery were clever.

micky says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:35am

interesting game haha, i ate some dino's

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:39am

The ending was rather, unexpected ^^;
Maybe next time the dino you'll eat would give some expalanation on how you got to eat him. (I wasnt really sure what dino I was, raptor? t-rex? compy?)

Dreyan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:48am

Interesting idea, some of the profiles were rather funny. Very creative use of the theme (:

Skruffye says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:51am

I like the idea of a Tinder-like dating app for two-button controls--it's pretty creative! :D
Other than that, I found the overall artistic style to be lacking and there was little challenge in the game.
Perhaps with all of its own assets (art and sound) to compliment the humour, this game would really come into its own. :)

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:36pm

"And remember, some dinosaurs might have lied on their profiles or used deceptive profile pictures." Absolutely hilarious and completely wrong on sooo many levels. Great writing. Only thing missing was replayability, could use some randomization of available dinos from bigger pool per day.

Gunzil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:43am

Dino dating sim where you only date smaller dinos so you can eat them. Sometimes you can find true love as well.

I only picked dinos based on whether they were herbivores and relatively small since I didn't have an idea of what my character's strength and size are. Not a lot to the game other than picking yes or no on whether to attempt to eat a dino. There is some humor in the actual dino profiles.

Anachron says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:46am

Hahahahaha love that you have Earl in there! I didn't think I could eat him.. This looks like the start of a dinosaur dating multiplayer card game. Very funny!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]