Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sil must Grow!

by deadread - Jam Entry

First attempt at making a game, we decided to go for the "growing" theme. Sadly, we couldn't finish the original project, so we did this draft level to show the work we did during the 72h (albeit having another project due during the 72h period as well).

Done by Jeremy and Victor

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#677Audio(Jam)2.38
#712Humor(Jam)2.28
#965Mood(Jam)2.32
#985Theme(Jam)2.81
#1021Graphics(Jam)1.70
#1063Fun(Jam)2.15
#1112Overall(Jam)2.14
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Can you make an archive with the game? Having uploaded a folder to google drive needs you to download every file independently, which would be very slow

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Strange game. I can't figure out why you are a seed sliding around the place. Also, the graphics and music were extremely dull. I don't see much use of the theme, except for the fact that you are a seed.

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:50pm

The short music loop was really nice; probably it'll stuck in my head for some time :)

sorle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25pm

haha like I´m watching through a "time-travel-mirrow-thing" you know?

This really reminds me of my first game(for LD#27... I think?)
I had the same "stick to the wall while in mid air"thing going on.

Keep working guys and hey congrats! You've just did what 99,9% of the world can't do... Make a videogame!
(ok I've just made the value up, but I think it's even higher)

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Hahahha I laughed playing this, But the grafics are a little paint ;-D. The music is pretty interesting :)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:03pm

The platforming controls feel good, but it is easy to get stuck in the platforms. The game overall was a little too simple to be really fun. But as a first attempt at making a game, it is great, especially considering the time constraints.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:30pm

awesom idea

Switchiers says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:42pm

The audio is very good, but why the flower jump 2 times when we pressed one time the space button?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]