Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Clouk

by pixelpotions - Jam Entry

We didn't finish.

The chicken follows the mouse
Left mouse to shoot
Space to jump

Collect the golden eggs to make your clouk bigger.

@_Gabrielfer - Art
@Sparrowspell - Code & Sound

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#275Graphics(Jam)3.88
#499Audio(Jam)3.04
#552Theme(Jam)3.63
#604Humor(Jam)2.50
#646Innovation(Jam)2.95
#775Mood(Jam)2.85
#803Fun(Jam)2.78
#1010Overall(Jam)2.67
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

NoradZero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:07am

Nice concept! Sad you didn't finish but keep up the good work. :)

esayitch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Sucks that you didn't finish :( Could have been a really nice game, I really dig growing the cloak mechanic.

The art was very nice though, and so were the sfx.

ToloaGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:44pm

The chicken looks badass though

ajmalr says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Nice art and a good base, would have loved to seen it finished!

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:12pm

I see the potential and the polish, but sorry you didn't finish :(

I'm not sure that the chicken following the mouse was great. For the longest time after I booted up the game I thought it was a broken endless runner and I would dive off the edge of a broken stage.

Stopping the chicken when you shoot is a decent counter to the running towards the cursor thing, but it's not quite enough. I guess you should just revert to traditional left/right controls. There's not really a a reason why the current scheme would be better than traditional controls for fun or mechanical or thematic reasons.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Short and simple, although it sucks that you didn't finish. A really cool concept! Short but awesome! You should continue this, btw.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:24pm

It's a pity you couldn't finish it - I loved the main character, and the controls are different and work pretty nicely. It feels like having half of a mouse and half of a keyboard traditional controls hehe. At first it seemed that having the character always follow the mouse wasn't a good idea, but then I got used to shooting to make him stop and the controls started to feel much better. Good job!

wine says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:02am

Really cool and promising prototype!
Very well done guys :)

LeafThief says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Good chicken!

Valandre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:57pm

very good concept, you should complete it.

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:20pm

nice art! has potential

Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:52pm

I'd like to see play this in a more finished version. Seems the mechanics are there, just needs levels. Good start!

yhsper says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Very cool! ;)

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Nice! The animation is real cool. :) Sad you didn't finish :S

Aaranos says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Seems like it would of been quite good with a full level. Maybe continue on a post-jam version?

rzuf says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Cool concept and nice graphics, but controls are a bit awkward. Chicken is awesome, he deserves a finished game. :D

Aurel Bílý says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:09am

Nice engine start, but yeah, missing content…

gallerdude says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:20pm

Fun little concept. Love chicken man, love the movement style.

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:25pm

I like the concept of the cloak ! Sucks that there is no real gameplay but the chicken looks cool. The platforms looked stranged thought, their shape is not that great.

Blobo says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Pretty neat. it's a shame you didn't finish

Big Cow says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:13am

I like what you did in the compo time looks very exciting and I hope you keep working on it because the graphics and concept of a platformer with mouse are great. Chicken freezing on death makes me think of sonic when he drowns slightly terrifying :) Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]