Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Circulus

by Membrane - Compo Entry

Playable on desktop and mobile browsers!

Desktop controls:
Use the F key to move and the J key to change your color.

Mobile controls:
Tap the left side of the screen to move, tap the right side of the screen to change your color.

Guide:
Gain points by collecting dots and deflecting enemies. You can only deflect enemies that are the same color as you. You lose points when an enemy hits you and you fail to deflect it. The game gets more challenging as your score increases.

(It may take a minute to load. If it completely fails to load, try refreshing or using a different browser. I tested it on quite a few browsers and only had trouble loading it on one. Changing screen orientation mid-game on some mobile web browsers may cause unexpected results, if refreshing the page isn't working then try clicking the link again.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#68Theme4.27
#103Innovation3.83
#157Overall3.70
#274Graphics3.50
#330Fun3.35
#339Audio2.95
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

zatch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34am

Solid gameplay and an excellent job tackling both of the themes! This is the first of the compo games I've seen that actually made it fun to play with just two buttons (out of just a handful that I've looked at). Straight forward controls, the game responds intuitively to input, and the sound and graphics are clean. Well scoped!

makiki99 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:37am

Good job making this game! Graphics are clean, both themes were done well, sound effects are doing their jobs, and bonus points on making touch controls. The only complaint I have that turning around is really slow.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:43am

Very nice game, which is on each side very good :)

ianh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:43am

Nice use of the two-button theme!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:22am

Solid idea; simple and straightforward... great work!

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:36am

Definitely could've at least used rudimentary sound effects but game was fun and you did good with the two button controls :)

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:52am

Oops just relized I had my sound off when I reviewed this...updating rating.

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:44am

Good use of the themes! Simple and effective, I found the movement mechanic to not be ideal, but given the one button constraint I think it was fine!

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Neat idea, art simple but works for it, sometimes you have to wait little bit too long for sth to happen (for my taste). If you explore it more it can be nice mobile game. Great job! :)

mlepage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56am

Fun and relaxing. I found it easy to just play.

zaniarm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:49am

Solid gameplay. Loved the effects.

dusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:11pm

interesting idea

danbolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26pm

I love that you have things running mobile-friendly. Ludum Dare is really more of a desktop jam, but the fact that you're making something that just runs on a cell phone's browser is super great.

Husky says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:02pm

I love the gameplay with minimalism style, simple but interesting.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:43am

Simple looking, but very well made. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/7EMaRu1rC0U

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Nice little game! The rotation speed felt slightly awkward for me, but I liked the jumpy movement. Nice with a game available for the phone too.

alhvi says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:09am

Good job using both themes. Nice particles :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]