Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cook!!! I'm Hungry!!!

by WolvesOfOdin - Jam Entry

Post Ludum Dare build with more responsive jump controls - https://www.dropbox.com/s/eogwm3fqqhcvcsj/Cook%21%21%21%20I%27m%20Hungry%21%21%21%20-%20v1.0.1.rar?dl=0


Warning!!! This game is difficult!!! The controls take awhile to get use to, this game is frustrating, but once you get a grasp on how the game is played, it becomes easier.

I recommend playing this at 1280x720.

Update - Files now hosted on Dropbox

Hello, this is WolfOfOdin. I am here to submit my first Ludum Dare game. Up until this point, I have only one complete game under my belt, so I am not an extremely skilled developer. I tried my best, in the time given, and I am proud to release my second game to the public "Cook!!! I'm Hungry!!!. I will be working on this game post Ludum Dare.

A few things to note:

I went with the title because I planned on working with this game post Ludum Dare. So once I have had more than three days to work with the title, the title itself will make more sense. I didn't feel like changing it to "Servant".

This game is a platformer. You are the cook to a young prince, and it is your responsibility to make sure he grows up big and health. The prince will give you his demand, then you have to gather the ingredients. After the level is complete, you feed the prince, and he grows a little bigger (in the belly... perverts).

I could only complete four levels. The first level lets you get your feet wet, and the following levels will proceed to punch you in the face at any given moment. This game is challenging, I mean really challenging. I would have made more levels, but I spent my time optimizing the levels I had. Sadly, there is no music in the game because I have no clue how to make music.

I was the only person working on this project. Every script, every graphic was done by me. The sound effects were made in sfxr.

I hope you enjoy, and to entice the hardcore players I will give away one free copy of Euro Truck Simulator 2 to the first person who beats level 4. All you have to do is send a video of you completing the level to wolvesofodin86@gmail.com, first come first serve.

Follow Me:

Twitter - https://twitter.com/wolfofodin86
Twitch - http://www.twitch.tv/wolfofodin
GameJolt (will post future build here, just a link to my profile atm) - http://gamejolt.com/profile/wolfofodin/1084170

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#496Humor(Jam)2.67
#700Audio(Jam)2.16
#945Mood(Jam)2.41
#1008Innovation(Jam)2.16
#1012Graphics(Jam)1.88
#1030Fun(Jam)2.32
#1034Theme(Jam)2.56
#1059Overall(Jam)2.52
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:33pm

I like how it started like a classic plateformer and almost became an exploration game ^^ But the jump is not very responsive so it's a bit harsh for precision

WolvesOfOdin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:37pm

It takes awhile to get use to the jump. I kept it the way it was intentionally because there is a jump exploit in the game you can use to make some areas easier. Thanks for playing though :D

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Couldn't figure out how to download it. Please use a better hosting site. This one looks like it's going to give me a virus.

WolvesOfOdin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Will change uploads to Dropbox

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Good work finishing your first Ludum Dare game! :)

I liked that the game was difficult, and that the levels had some room for exploration. The controls were a bit unreliable for me though, so maybe they could use some tweaking.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Nom Nom Nom. And then king grew slightly.
In level two I was trying to find the apple and jumped off to the right side of the map (and fell to infinite pit...darn)

WolvesOfOdin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:15pm

@AzuraAspect - Darn, thought I prevented that from happening.

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Good job on your first entry!
I have a couple things I noticed:
You have a couple of typos, like on the main menu, you have "objives" instead of "objectives". Not a big deal, just something to look out for.

I also noticed jump and other controls weren't too responsive at times, which made it much more difficult to play the game.

Getting past that, the game turned a simple concept into a nice LD project.

TomBoogaart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:35pm

wow this game is hard

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Unresponsive jump really kills this thing :(
It could have been fun for a while but instead it was just frustrating.

WolvesOfOdin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:38pm

@Reggianto Sorry you didn't like it.

Lancey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03pm

The controls aren't responsive enough and the jump behaves strangely

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:12pm

I noticed you can jump so long as you're touching any surface, even if you're below it, this exploit is very easy to use, still fun for what it is though.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:17pm

..you decided to make less levels in order to focus on making it more difficult? Aww man. You really nailed the jumping controls from hell. :P
But well, I enjoyed giving that little squarey prince the food he deserved. By, apparently, pushing it over the floor until it hit him. Why not!

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Good job on your first submission. But the controls need a little more tweaking...

zaniarm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:59am

This game was hard and fun. It took time to get used to the jump. Great work on your first Ludum dare. This was also my first Ludum dare :).

jachepe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:55pm

The game asks several improvements but you have finished it. Good work!

SeaDads says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:01pm

It's not bad really, I liked it for a bit but did find it a bit frustrating. Enjoyed the cutscenes and the King getting fatter idea haha.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Jumping around in cube kingdom. Well done in completing your first LD. Not sure if Euro Truck Simulator is much of a lure but I appreciate the gesture ;)

Oh, please don't compress the OS X app folder using RAR as it removes the executable bit of the main program, causing it not to start. This is fixable if you know how, but most people don't know or won't bother. If you can, compress it with zip instead.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]