Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sky 1513

by vedmich - Jam Entry

Here is our first game on the Ludum Dare!

Control the floating island with two buttons only!
Press left or right to rotate island.

Collect shards and grow your island bigger and more beautiful!

Each shard of the same type will upgrade the hex it hit.
Each shard of different type will destroy the hex it hit or create the new hex in case when hex it hit is protected by the Barrier.

Barrier grow every time you completely surround it with hexes.
Every time the Barrier grows, Tower Tree is upgraded!

But beware of ultra destroying Meteors!

Have fun! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#38Theme(Jam)4.32
#40Graphics(Jam)4.56
#70Innovation(Jam)3.88
#254Mood(Jam)3.56
#261Overall(Jam)3.60
#479Fun(Jam)3.20

Comments

wilsk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:39am

A very nice looking game with a peaceful but challenging mechanic. Fun.

vedmich says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:38am

Developed by
Oxiten, Happanda, Vedmich
:)

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Nice visuals, great mechanic, good take on the theme.
The tutorial could use a lot of work, though.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Nice looking. A soothing soundtrack would've been great with this one.

ninjascript says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Great music and atmosphere. Wish I could rate you on audio!

coldman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:48pm

I like the idea, it could be realy fun ! Yet it is hard to see where does the rock fall.

fxtagn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Point of view is a bit challenging. The speed of tips scrolling is too fast. Nice art and style. Finally, this entry looks like good starting point to produce nice logic game for wide-than-LD public!

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:54am

I used the windows version as I'm using google chrome. Could you try and get a webGL version out? The game crashed after I built the first barrier. Game looked pretty and played nicely. However it did need more polish on timings.

Indie L says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:57am

Nice game,very interesting!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:03am

Downloaded the Windows version, but after a few seconds I'd receive a blue screen and it was unplayable. This happened after the menu showed up, whether I hit play or not.

Running on 64-bit Windows 10

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:13am

Really challenging but awesome concept!

kostak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Great concept I love it.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Good mechanics. A very attractive graphics and sustained style.

Ancient_Pixel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:01pm

The theme is well implemented in this one and the graphics are great, but i got really annoyed of not knowing why sometimes a colour got or got not into a place at my perimeter, its really difficult to figure out if it hits the field nearest or furthest to you, maybe you can fix this with shading the ones that are further away because i destroyed islands i thought would be right on spot and this ruined my otherwise, calming and meditative experiance. Loosing to the game instead my skill doesnt feel right. I hope you continue developing this, it has great potential!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:16pm

The game looks great and it is a cool concept, but It is very hard to see where the blocks will come down

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:00am

80th percentile, definitely. I played this one for far longer than I played most ludum games just because I became so attached to that little floating island.

Great twist on classic mechanics, if this concept exists elsewhere I havent seen it.



My criticisms:
-I wasnt sure right off between the green and yellow tiles, mixed them up quite a bit but that might be my visual acuity or a color constancy problem psychologically.
-Wish the rocks fell slightly faster at least to start with because there is no tutorial
-I am still not sure about the falling comets because at timers theres no way to avoid them you just have to decide which piece of upgraded land (if you have any) takes damage/gets destroyed. This is kinda cool because its like this unavoidable thing but the player still has choice... but the consequences are all negative. Maybe thats okay though, I havent decided where I fall on that yet (pun intended!)

Nice work. Seriously.

Solifuge says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:19am

Remember seeing this game while doing an update post, but I forgot to save a link. Glad I stumbled on it again. Beautiful artwork, and nice use of the limited controls!

The game presented some nice puzzle-style gameplay, with strategic choices, but one aspect of the design really rubbed me the wrong way; The meteors. I really like the idea of a shard that damages what it hits, and even one that nukes a whole ring if it hits the Barrier, but having it destroy a whole hex regardless of level breaks so much of the existing gameplay. It makes players helpless, and takes away a meaningful choice they could be making: "Do I have a position where it'll hit a Level 2 Hex that wouldn't be destroyed?" It also negates clever play to build up as many level 2+ Hexes as possible. Basically, if Meteors destroy rather than damage the Hex it hits, players are absolutely helpless; their only choice is how to lose, which is REALLY frustrating in a puzzle-type game.

It also might be worthwhile to let you shift the island one hex Right or Left in addition to rotation (Say, hold the left or right button to shift it while held or something); there were always Shards 1 tile too far away for a given size (might be an off-by-one error in the source?), and it would also potentially enable players more flexibility in positioning their island, and less frustrating time spent waiting for just the right Shard in just the right spot.

Critique aside, it's a really beautiful game, with some gameplay I've never seen before. You could expand on this; it seems like a pretty good fit for Mobile, etc.

Thanks for putting this together!

vedmich says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:43am

Thanks everyone for your feedback! Your words are greatly inspirational and, moreover, very useful for us!

We have some issues obviously (like bad transparency for shards landing and meteors), so we will polish the game further.

We'll keep you updated here and provide you with new versions as work progress :)

emmes says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:54am

I really like the graphics and mood, but I also don't understand when a tile does what. I even didn't have a barrier at all after a while, still, some tiles grew the island, others destroyed tiles even though tiles of same color where nearby. Weird.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]