Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Let Me Explain

by OwT - Jam Entry

This game is our first try at adventure games, and calling it interactive story would be pretty accurate description. Albeit stylised, game contains a lot of violence and we don't recommend showing it to children.

Unfortunately, due to technical problems that ate enormous chunk of our submission time, we couldn't fit entire plot in this build. We are planning, however, on finishing it after Ludum Dare, so feel free to check back on us if you want to know rest of the story.

Good luck and have fun, everyone :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#6Mood(Jam)4.46
#137Graphics(Jam)4.17
#229Audio(Jam)3.53
#455Overall(Jam)3.38
#533Theme(Jam)3.65
#571Innovation(Jam)3.06
#670Fun(Jam)2.96
#806Humor(Jam)2.00

Comments

Diventurer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Nice graphics, audio and most of all mood. I feel like I can't really choose between options though. As in, you go in one direction all the time. I don't know if this is intentional or because of the mentioned missing plot parts. I would love to play this game when it's finished.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Wow, such a think mood in this game. The graphics fit so well with the story, and the animations are lovely. The immersion is incredible, it lasted a little more than a minute and yet it was so much more.

The story was grim, maybe a little too much, but I really liked it.

I was a little confused at first cause the man would not do what I told him to. Then I realized that I did not have to click onto the words, but clicke the left and right button. Derp. I think a visual aid above the choice would make it more evident for the ones like me :)

theSand says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09pm

The game didnt work for me :/

cudabear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Game doesn't load for me, I get a 404 in the console for "http://commondatastorage.googleapis.com/itchio/html/134575/Release/LME.js".

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26pm

If there's any game that gets 5 stars in Mood, it's this one.

cudabear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Nevermind, it loaded for me after a while.

The mood on this game is incredible. It's dark and abysmal, I love it. The audio really suits the game, though I wish it was a longer loop, or less noticeable when it does. The graphics are really stunning, great job there. MY only complaint is the gameplay is a bit harsh, making the wrong decision even once makes you start over again, and there are lots of wrong decisions to make.

triello says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:40pm

I love your art style! It's a quite dramatic and immersive.

Great work!

Thanks for the feedback on Parallax! We'll continue to work on it after jam's hangover!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:14pm

The mood is great, the gritty graphics and tension building music along with the plot really create a good atmosphere. I would've wanted a bit of real choice, not just guessing the right answer to every part.

daveh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:06pm

The picture of the angel has me really curious to know more. This was pretty damn dark, but that made it so much more engrossing. Great aesthetic and sound effects.

Christian S. says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:07pm

The sound and the drawings work very nicely together. Well done!

fafastudio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Immersive game!

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:13pm

the sketch-like graphics are pretty cool and the choises too i really like this concept

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Nicely put together game. Mood is interesting and sound definitely adds to the overall feeling. I don't feel like I had a lot of choices to make in this game.The wrong choice usually ended the game or forced me to go to the "proper" path

BobM says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Very nice graphics dudes !

Sound is amazing, story is pretty cool !

a mechanic to skip the already seen scene would be very nice !

Keep going on dudes !

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:53pm

The content you've manage to put in this game is impressive and the story was good.
However, the choosing input felt a bit bugged, but overall it worked for me.
Good job.

mathijs750 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:25am

Daring art style, very moody. The story transitions are a bit abrupt but I can imagine that was a debilitate choice. Please follow up on the cliffhanger.

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:28pm

I also tried clicking options for most of the game, which luckily enough was the right thing to do seemingly!

Great bleak mood and a very dismal story, which is great because that's what you were going for :)

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:27pm

OMG you surely have an artist there! This is waaay too cool!<3

Dohxis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Woah, that's some dark game, though it makes me want to play it more and more! Good job, nice idea and good theme and mood!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:14pm

The graphics, music and story all work so well together to create a dark tone! Top mood for sure.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:55pm

I enjoyed you game. It has a precise atmosphere and the story is great. The only thing I missed is more sound and voiceover, I think it would add greatly to the atmospehere.

PanKamil says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Your art looks amazing and, together with the music, it creates extremely dark atmosphere I adore. Also, it has some silent movie poetry in it - with vignetted details, and long, quiet moments. Good job!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:29pm

This has the best mood of all LDJAM 34.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Interesting game with good art.

kmakai says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Awesome job with this! The art style was really unique and expressive, and the way you used the sound effects to fill in the "action" was perfect. It reminded me of a storyboard test for an animated film. I look forward to seeing where this goes when you release the rest! Great job.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Well, that was depressing. Nice drawn graphics and sound effects. Not really sure what I was doing however. Why am I breaking in, killing some dude (no choice there), fleeing, taking pills, boozing, etc? I will play again and see if I can survive it.

Somehow I feel you should disable voting for Humor for this entry because… you know.

jstan says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:54am

I really like the gameplay. Keep good work.

dlowe says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Thanks for the game!

Jod says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:17am

That was very well done! That's a _huge_ amount of drawing, impressive! And animation too! I bet that took ages to do.

You put music in there, as well as sound effects. Great!

I think you could improve in scene transitions. We go from the house, to an escape where we're attacked by a dog, and then home. A simple black screen with a description wouldn't cost you a lot of time to draw, but it would help the player a little bit in understanding where the story is going too.

An ending, if only just in text, would also give the player closure on what they just played.

Keep on going! I'm dying to see what you'll do in the next Jam!

alliel_a says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:40am

nice game

Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Great graphics (especially for the time limit) and audio, and the gameplay is pretty original (like a visual novel with quicktime events). Loads of mood. Unfortunately, it loses a bit on the fun factor because so many choices lead to insta-death, and the right option isn't always that easy to figure out. Still, that's realistic for the story. I played to three different endings and had a good time.

Best of luck with the post-compo version; you're off to a great start. I suggest adding a save feature.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:30pm

I shot people and drank alcohol... just another day I guess. ;-D I like the animated style of this, well done. Thanks for reviewing my game.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:39pm

An interesting game full of impressively moody visuals! I do love to see more games working around the two button choice aspect, but I can't help but feel the ton of game over options makes the player's choices feel less free. I can understand how difficult it is to add more content in the time limit though, so good luck for the future!

local minimum says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:59pm

I really liked the graphics in this game! Very much. The setup with the controls worked nicely too. However it felt like the game was a bit too brutal on the player (not the contents in itself necessarily), it was way too easy to die in the beginning leaving the player with a sense that there really was only one way to play the game and that was unfortunate. I get that the combinatorics of a fully branching story is just very quickly impossible. But I think a better way to solve it is to allow the story to converge on the same points throughout the game and allow the player to take different routes in between these. Thus giving the player an illusion of writing their own narrative. And only have a few deaths along the way.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]