Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Soniverse

by FindX - Jam Entry

You are in a world where all music is hidden, floating in space.
Your goal is to bring the beauty of music back into this lifeless universe.
You must guide your ship through space, creating a beautiful soundscape along the way.

This is my first Ludum Dare Submission, made in construct 2, I hope you enjoy and give me feedback on how to improve it! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#85Audio(Jam)3.94
#532Innovation(Jam)3.12
#626Theme(Jam)3.56
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#912Fun(Jam)2.61
#983Overall(Jam)2.71
#1000Graphics(Jam)2.06
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:35am

I like the idea of music interacting with the game, I just wish that the loop was longer and that the game was less simple. It's good for what it is, though.

The Vall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:36am

Short game but I did enjoy the gradual incrementation of the audio. Nice.

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Really nice idea with adding tracks to the music as you progressed! I liked the music, especially the part at the end, but maybe the loop could be a bit longer.

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Nice music.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20pm

The idea of adding music throughout the game is nice. There is however a bug: you can use the arrow keys to move the collectibles and obstacles.

FindX says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Thanks for all of the feedback! I'm surprised I didn't notice that bug before. I've uploaded a fixed version now, because that's pretty game breaking lol

Rocketship says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Sounds good, which I guess was the main objective here. The background song getting more intense as the game gets faster was a good way to make it seem even faster. It's relatively simple on the gameplay side and I wish the surroundings would adapt a bit to the player collecting those song bubbles.

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Nice. Reminds me of Bit Trip Runner for some reason, although it's nothing like it :P Aaaanyway, really nice track, love how it builds up.

Only issue I had is that after you pick up a Green ball, you can't pick up another green ball until 'Track Unlocked' stops being displayed. I guess it's not a bug, since the music would advance too quickly, but it was a little annoying as I'd always get 2 balls in quick succession and wanted to grab 'em!

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:23am

love the idea of getting new tracks of the music, collisions not working good right before getting a new track. nice game.

thelasthour says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Wow, I really love this idea! I found myself really wanting to see how the music would develop. I really hope you keep working on this because you have something really promising here. One thing though. This game would be WAAAAAYYY better if the new track started playing as soon as you picked it up. I'm guessing you know this and tried to make it that way but found difficulty making the track start in the middle. I don't know contruct 2 but if they let you adjust the volumes for individual tracks in your game, I would advise you to start the game with all tracks playing but with their volume at 0. Then turning tracks on when you pick one up is as simple as setting the volume to 100.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:50pm

The music as a reward is great, but the frequency of the green orbs appearing is slow. It felt a bit like a waiting game to me.

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Pretty good work on the graphics but it's sadly a bit framy and you can't collect green orbs while you have the "New track discovered" message displayed, which is a bit frustrating ^^ But GG, keep doing games ;)

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:42am

+ interesting game with good mood

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]