Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Soup

by utgarda - Jam Entry

A battle in the micro-world - bacteria vs virus! The one that grows faster wins. Play vs AI or go multiplayer on one keyboard. Press and hold Z to spawn resource gatherers and press X to recall them, claim resources, and GROW! Hold Z a little longer to spawn a soldier that will protect you from rogue cells and attack the opponent's core.

Select mode from menu screen. In 2-players mode, use Z, X for player 1 and O, P for player 2.

Have fun!

Credits:

the game is made with LibGDX

Programming: Evgeniy Tsvigun
Art: Yakov Nechushkin, Pavel Buzdin
Music and sound: Nikita Vasilyev, Dmitry Miroshkin

Update: v0.1.1
* due to a typo, all the purplish enemies floated to the right side, making it real hard for the blue player, fixed.
* Balance fixed: purple enemies could grow big enough to kill a base in one touch, which made the gameplay too randome

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#104Graphics(Jam)4.28
#118Mood(Jam)3.83
#177Theme(Jam)4.07
#181Overall(Jam)3.71
#190Fun(Jam)3.59
#221Innovation(Jam)3.55
#272Audio(Jam)3.46

Comments

utgarda says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:23am

Gameplay video: https://youtu.be/qmJTuZjxx8w

OX/X and Linux links are actually .jar files, so use them if you have Java installed

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:09am

Nice concept, sort of Osmos combined with a simple RTS game? Interesting. Great presentation too.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Very polished and nice game! I imagine it would be plenty of fun with 2 players, unfortunately I don't have anyone to play with right now :)
Sounds, graphics, gameplay, everything was great.

holgk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Nice game.

rockford says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Remind me agar.io, very fun.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Great graphics and fun gameplay.

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Wow, really cool game. One- and Two-Player modus both very appreciated.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Nice game, very fun and very innovative

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Really well done!

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Love the look, it's an interesting game, you need to add messages of win and game over.

timeshapers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Pretty awesome idea, and looks great too. I seem to be winning or losing solely based on random purple stuff hitting me or my opponent though.

utgarda says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:00pm

@timeshapers yeah, the balance needs tweaking. Still, even now you can prevent your death by recalling gatherers in time or trying to emit soldiers when purples are close :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Ey, incredible concept, addictive, good mechanics, original gameplay, perfect graphics, and nice music. A great entry :-)

kaype says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:16am

Eghh, fullscreen by default :/

Really polished though, I can tell you all worked hard on it. Nice music too.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:52pm

I've always liked cell-agent simulations and the idea of indirect control. The main challenge when developing games based on these attributes is creating interesting and compelling gameplay.

The main problem here is the "neutral" purple cells. No matter how actively I keeps spawning fighter cells, sooner or later, one of the big ones is going to appear off screen and hit my base or the enemy base.

Losing like that is infuriatingly random and winning like that isn't an achievement in the slightest.

I feel relaxing the two button limitation and allowing the player to choose the cell spawning direction would go a long way in alleviating this issue.

You could also try to redesign the purple cell to act in a different role, for instance not as a menace but rather a small hindrance in the beginning or as a tactical obstacle between your base and enemy cells.

utgarda says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Thanks again, guys.

HuvaaKoodia, yes, you're totally right about that, we see that clearly for quite a while now. We're about to provide more stats - that mediates the issue with most stuff happening off-screen, making more units and, I guess now your detailed and fair criticism just made firm my intention to change purple cells behaviour. The easiest would be limiting their growth capacity, should improve the gameplay a lot.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Nice concept, and relaxing to play :D

f7f5 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Great production values! The only downside is that gameplay seems a bit random, at least I won against the AI more than once without following a solid strategy

Ardy says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Give us a mute button!

Kaupenjoe says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:22pm

The game looks amazing and plays really well. Theme is of course perfectly implemented :D
I really liked it :)

utgarda says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Ardy: will do in post-LD version, coming soon.

Thank you guys!

Update: balance fixed in v0.1.1, randomness somewhat mitigated.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:33am

good work! well done :)

BlackBulletIV says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 1:42am

Very fun. The music and graphics were nice too.

Akhera says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:02pm

Love the concept. I had a lot of fun. However, I don't like how a lot of the action is happening off screen. I don't have much of an idea how my collectors are doing until I recall them.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]