Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Play with Dog or Cat

by okusho - Compo Entry

Use arrow key to play with dog or cat.



My first time in Ludum Dare and to create a game by myself.

About code is so difficult and I still not very understanding .

Nonetheless, it's a very good experience for my life.

Just enjoying creation. Well, super simple but I'm love it.

:3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#29Graphics4.39
#168Humor3.16
#433Mood3.03
#591Theme3.59
#835Overall2.77
#873Innovation2.34
#919Fun2.23

Comments

scars377 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:05am

GOOOD JOB!

Remicy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:20am

Amazing Graphics!!

rockybdubs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43am

Fun graphics!

AwfulMedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:45am

Cute graphics indeed.

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:45am

I love the way the cat is kinda of annoyed looking when you play with dog. but when you are playing with the cat the dog is just happy.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:49am

Oh I get it, the dog represents morality and the cat is the futility of meaning. Very deep.

Teren says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:52am

Nice graphics :)

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Nice entry, but needs a little more perhaps? :) For a first try this is good though - look forward seeing more in future.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Congratulations of your first Ludum Dare!

The graphics are adorable, and have real personality, and I would say it's a good take on the theme! Apart from the size, there's not really anything to criticise here, so good work!

SayRafon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:37pm

The graphics are really good :)
This isn't really a game but fun to watch ^^

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Adorable!

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Good job on the graphics. I love how the cat look when you're witn the dog xD

That's cool, keep on going.

The google drive where the sources are isn't publicly accesible. It ask to request an access. :/

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:27pm

the cat jealousy is real lol

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38pm

This is so cute! :D

I love the detail of the cat becoming jealous when you play with the dog. Congratulations on your first entry!

Todnut says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Adorable! I only wanted to play with the dog. Is that bad?

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:22pm

very cute, well done

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Congrats on your first LudumDare! I love the art, and funny ways they both respond. I especially love how annoyed the cat is when you're playing with the dog.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:24pm

On the upside, the graphics are nice. On the downside, I"m not sure my definition of "game" includes this. I'd suggest trying to add happiness meters for both animals and a variable ending depending on which one you favor.

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Cute graphics! I like the colours of the animals contrasted with the background.

Also the one of the cat being poked with your finger is a great animation. Good work!

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:57pm

not really a game but hey, first LD! cute graphics mate =D!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Cutesy thing to toy with. D'aw~

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Play with the dog, all day long :)

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41pm

This is lovely! They both have so much personality, the cat is especially funny. Thank you :)

johntherobot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Haha really cute simple game. Love the attention to detail in the title graphic.

Pusty says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Very good graphics! :D

Ludipe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Those graphics look aaaawesome. Congrats on doing your first ludum dare! :)

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Can we call it a game?

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:14am

Nice graphics but no actual game...

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Very cute indeed

eerongal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16pm

I love the art. Nice work!

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Very cute!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Liked the part where you pet the dog/cat

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Cute but it was more of an interactive animation then a game.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:41pm

This can develop into something bigger, I see a spark of awesomeness there. Congrats on your first LD :)

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13pm

great knowing this was your first time creating a game yourself :) never can go wrong with a cat and dog :)

Keep it up :)

Well Done!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:56am

Nice animations and graphics.

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:00am

Cute animations! Can't wait to see what you make in the future!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Nice entry. Well done for your first LD !

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Really nice work on the art!

scorched says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Nice!

Waynetron says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Very charming :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]