Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

ADDA

by LazyDev - Jam Entry

Slash enemies with your sword. And that's it :)

Controls are buttons A & D hence the name for game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#712Theme(Jam)3.45
#731Graphics(Jam)3.03
#848Innovation(Jam)2.61
#961Mood(Jam)2.34
#1049Fun(Jam)2.23
#1096Overall(Jam)2.37

Comments

iapc says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Grrrr, you evil ............

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:47pm

This is a prime example of why "Two Button Controls" was a bad theme idea. These controls are *horrible*, and make what might otherwise have been a pretty fun game completely unplayable. I would have better feedback for the other aspects of your game if the piss-poor controls didn't completely domineer the gameplay.

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:47pm

God! The control scheme is horrible!

The graphics are pretty nice and the fighting might actually be fun if with proper controls. ;-)

Yvanor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:49pm

The character is turning too much fast, it's nearly impossible to go somewhere without hitting any wall. So bad, the idea could be great ^^

banana4life says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:36pm

I can only agree with Stuntddude.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Good Idea! Could use a little something tho! Graphics are cool and I liked that you tried something different.

ragnta says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:43pm

The control is amazing :D

Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:23am

A bit confusing controls but other parts looks ok.

themadknights says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:12pm

The game has potential, but the controls are difficult.

elizeu says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:07pm

I liked your idea. Maybe if you use "D" to rotate in four different directions, "A" performs attack, and "A + D" to move the character would be a little more under control. Overall I agree!

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 1:39am

Alright, I'm going to attempt to rebut Stuntddude's statements. He's acting like it's the end of the world, and has no sense of diplomacy. The game took a little getting used to, but was fun and a little silly and not at all unreasonable for anyone who's willing to practice for more than 30 seconds. It seems to me that the name is referential to QWOP, and supposed to feel a little out of control. I was fine with it.

If you weren't going for the "out of control" feel, I would suggest that the turning rate be slowed down slightly to allow for more precise angling. Perhaps double-tapping a direction could do a faster turn, but the again, complicating things may not be for the best.

I would suggest, however, that the player's sword disapppear for a shorter amount of time after a hit.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:01pm

the controls are a bit off, but the game is good

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]