Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Micros

by gkxd - Jam Entry

"Micros" is a game of microscopic growth within a cruel world of "eat or be eaten". You play an ambitious micro-organism desperate to survive, hungry to thrive for smaller, lesser creatures than yourself.

Eat your way through the competition!
Emerge from their corpses bearing new life in your gene pool!
Evade organisms looking to bump you off the map!
Escape the fiend trying to chase you out of existence!

This winter

Micros

Goes

Macro

...at Ludum Dare 34 near you.



Credits:
Art: Vinh Duong - vinhd.weebly.com
Coding: Daniel Hua - gkxd.info
Music: Kevin McLeod - incompetech.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#74Graphics(Jam)4.39
#231Mood(Jam)3.59
#310Theme(Jam)3.90
#315Fun(Jam)3.41
#325Overall(Jam)3.52
#389Humor(Jam)2.87
#902Innovation(Jam)2.48

Comments

utoxin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:41am

Very impressive! The controls are a bit rough, and I saw a bit of visual stuttering. But overall, good graphics and sound, and it certainly fit the theme.

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51am

Awesome work. Ths concept I have mostly already seen (and enjoyed), but the graphics are perfect. Congrats!

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:36am

Wow!! The art is amazing !! I am also familiar with the concept... but yeah very impressive graphics!! :D

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:58am

Great art and smooth gameplay!

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:59am

I love the art and it is an interesting twist on the fish-eating genre (instead of growing it becomes splitting). The control is a bit off but overall it is quite enjoyable. It gets hard very quickly though because of the split mechanics.

uvwar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:05am

I wish I could boost or the other animals attacked each other or something; I kept getting pinned in eventually in a sea of un-navigatable animals. Really cool graphics and music!

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:09am

Super lovely (and tidy!) artwork, and controls feel nice and definitely something I could see myself playing on my phone or something. Great work! Absolutely 0 complaints.

Membrane says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:30am

Wonderful game!! I love it!! The controls could have been a little tighter but overall this is a very good and very complete entry.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:27pm

This was a big download for a LD game! Would have been better to split up the platform builds.

Liked the art, especially the graphics. Gameplay was a little simple, but enjoyable enough.

StabAlarash says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Awesome graphics !!! really like the mood

Solifuge says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Beautiful art and sound design. I had a lot of fun! Brought back similar feelings to Spore and Agar.Io, while still it's own thing.

Broke my heart to not be able to keep growing, and go full Katamari on the red Microbes; I'd have loved to be able to control splitting, to save it for times of distress. Only briefly made it to 4 Colony Members before getting devoured, but it was a fun challenge. Thanks for putting this together!

MisterMortal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Lovely game, concept isn't very new, but graphics make up for it. Got a bit surprised when I tried to eat fish quite similary sized to me and I split to two smaller versions of me :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Awesome game! Perfectly lays on a theme, smooth controls, beautiful graphix, lovely music and sounds. Good job! Like this game a lot!

aeveis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:39am

Very nice! The spin on the spore mechanic is interesting, keeps play longer and a bit more strategic. I think max I got up to 5 fishes. I wondered if there was some mechanic to keep your fish from multiplying (like some of your fish died maybe you could grow bigger but fewer fish?). The glowly enemy always substracted from my size (so I got really small), right? Some feedback that would have been useful is a binary indication of if I can eat something (like a sudden color change or something distinct to know what you can or can't eat), but that's more of a polish thing. I think the the game could use a bit of rebalancing (I could never get to a point where I could eat everything) but overall pretty good!

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Very nice entry! I like the colorful visuals

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:56am

Gameplay wise, I was hoping that you'd be able to grow a bit more, the more your colony grew, so you'd feel more powerful and be able to progress more. It'd also have more of an impact when you lose a member.

That being said, it IS nice that that the game is score-based, since it's harder to keep a large colony. From that perspective it's nicely balanced. Good job to both of you! :)

Molpe says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Not a new concept, but the graphics and how it's made it's really nice! I started to play just because of the graphics x) And how they split, it surprised me every time xD

I've made a little let's play if you want to check it out:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c1RuFlch_g0

Jan 16, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Very cute! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/jZIKMICuSkI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]