Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Defend the Plant

by PanDoes - Compo Entry

You are trying to bust out of a dungeon. To bust out of this dungeon you will use your sword, plant, and the bullets that magically appear when you press ctrl. (The game should only last about 5 minutes.);

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2210Coolness20%

Comments

PanDoes says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:54am

Please keep in mind this is my first time doing the compo, and I was rushed for time.

Xgor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:00pm

The controls is really weird. As you need to use the mouse arrow keys and shift you would need 3 hands to control the game.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:11am

I agree with @Xgor about three hands!

Aerohand says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:47am

looks like a gamemaker product in a hurry. i like the concept but u should try polishing it better!

525 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:11am

The white dot of head is cute~

RiOrius says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:34am

Pretty rough. And I'm not sure how it fits either theme?

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Rough around the edges, but some polish and you've got yourself a twin stick shooter! Hope to see some more finished entries from you in the future.

Dohxis says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Controls are simply horrible. Sadly, I do not have 3 hands so I can not use arrow keys, ctrl, shift and move my mouse around at the same time. Not to mention I'm really not a big fan of arrow keys but I can't even use the classic WASD... Graphics are nothing good either, no sound and I really can't tell what's happening in the game. Good try for your first time I guess but there's a lot where you can and have to improve. Also, please do try to stick with the theme for LD, as this is a contest to make a game in limited time with certain limitations. I'd suggest you keep on learning, read some game design articles, improve in programming and try again!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]