Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow Your Hoard!

by jdoughty - Jam Entry

Grow Your Hoard! Make it big! At least 100 gold would be big enough! How? I'm glad you asked! We'll do what Goblins do best! RAID! In fact, the hard part is done for you! Your goblins have snuck into the town and are filling their bags with your gold as we speak! But they have to make it back to camp, and the castle guards aren't exactly thrilled!

Move Left and Right using the A and D keys(... or the Left and Right Arrows... Or your mouse clicks...WHAT EVER YOU CHOOSE!) to go left and right, shielding the others from projectiles! Press it twice to do what I call a Shield Bash Dash! You'll need that if reinforcements arrive to stop you!

Recruit more powerful units between raids, and amass, no GROW, a hoard that makes you fit to be a king! Come on, you knew being impervious to harm would come in handy some day didn't you?

-----------------------

Tips:
Greedy Goblins are worth 3 points
Ogres function as meat shields for your other units
Large shield has a bigger hit box and kills the soldier faster

-----------------------

If you get to the end screen, check the credits and let us know how many goblins were harmed growing your hoard!

-----------------------

Music: Carnival Rides by Écrivain http://opengameart.org/users/%C3%A9crivain
Font: Our Arcade Games http://www.dafont.com/our-arcade-games.font
Tools: HaxeFlixel, FlashDevelop, GIMP, and http://www.bfxr.net/
Source: https://github.com/jrdoughty/GrowYourHoard

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#198Fun(Jam)3.57
#239Humor(Jam)3.21
#290Innovation(Jam)3.44
#306Overall(Jam)3.54
#341Mood(Jam)3.43
#480Theme(Jam)3.71
#600Graphics(Jam)3.29

Comments

gloim says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:27am

Really fun game. Great idea and I totally dig the artstyle and music! keep on the great work :)

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:46am

Good Game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:48am

I like the idea for this. It's a fun little game. It would be cool to see it expanded upon a bit.

LoremDare says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:48am

Great game, but I did not understand the knight

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:48am

That was an amusing entry. I didn't manage to seem to make any progress as I tended to just break even after each level. Still, it was fun! Nice use of both themes.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50am

Great game, tight controls and a nice idea!

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51am

Interesting idea. Kind of a reverse castle defense game.
I didn't really know what the purpose of the Ogres and Greedy Goblins were, and the Ogres never survived as there was no way to defend them.

Sokar92 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52am

A little hard to know when just the screen, but it is very funny.

KZdev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52am

Fun game, I just wish there was a mute button. The music sounded good at first but it got old pretty quick.

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52am

well done but chaotic at moments. arrows are too fast and over the place.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56am

Like the sounds! Art style is interesting. Very hard to save everyone especially the big guys

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59am

Great game!I'm not sure what the Ogres were for exactly

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46am

Pretty cool entry! Music got a repetitive fast though.Graphics were pretty :)

I'd maybe make it a bit more slow-paced, and make the guy control a bit more tightly, but that's a matter of preference I guess :)

Good entry, good luck.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:27am

Thanks for the feedback guys! We're sorry the music got repetitive, it was one of the things we were nervous about. We're thinking that that, and making the ogres tougher, and the arrow/axe speed will have to get tweaked for the post compo release. Glad you guys are enjoying the game!

Dan Norder says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:32am

Cool. Worth working on now that the compo is over.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:42am

Funny, maybe a bit too easy. But it works well and feels responsive. Nice work.

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:44am

Trying to catch the projectiles with the shield was fun. I didn't really understand the point of purchasing more units. Visuals are nice but the text is pretty horrid. Great fun though. Well done.

Husky says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:35pm

This is interesting, I feel a little hard but overall is fine :D

Mixer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:44am

Really entertaining game, good job :D

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:30am

Really cool mechanics, I liked the graphics and the music, the battle with the soldier could be a little bit more "visual". I played it a lot and enjoyed, nice entry!

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:49am

I liked the shield mechanic! I thought I could keep upgrading to get a bigger shield, but I guess it was a single time use. I think buying more than 1 shield didn't do anything else? buying more minions felt a bit helpful, but i think it was easier to not buy anyone and just grind to 100. Buying 5ish greedy goblins didn't help since most were killed by knight when he spawned. Overall though, nice work!

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:37am

Awesome!!! Very addicctive!

adaFish says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Fun game and a great take on both themes. The shield bash fight with the knight was a nice feature. My ogres seemed a little squishy, though. If you expand on this I think a couple of bigger shield sizes or maybe a way of protecting the ogres would be good additions. Overall it was good fun and I'd love to see developed further. Great job!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:22am

Really liked the controls and the idea behind the game. The knights came at the worst times but it was really fun. Nice work.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:39am

It's pretty hard to catch the arrows. The graphics were pretty good, although the reinforcements sort of don't fit with the rest of the guys.

I'm not really sure if buying extra guys really helps. The greedy goblins don't seem to do anything, although the ogres are good at catching arrows.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:40am

This is a neat idea. I found it really hard to predict the arrow trajectory most times -- maybe it's that the arrow always points the same way. The steel drum / flute music was an odd choice of instruments, but strangely catchy.

Eduardo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:28pm

That's funny!

Geti says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:09am

More types of gobbo and upgrades would have been nice but was fun for what it was :)

guoboism says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:23am

Great game!

Move127 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:54am

Nice game. I enjoyed it a lot.

zatch says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:39am

Very neat idea! I couldn't figure out how to deal with the knight. Ogres provided good cover for the little guys, which was nice, but still not worth it once the knight spawned.

Jod says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:09am

Supercute! Loved the controls. Loved that arrows can hit each other and spin out of control!

brainstorm says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:44am

Great entry! It have a lot of charm, and I loved the pixel art! It's also really innovative and funny!

4/5

Allthebees says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Fun game, really cool concept too! Would love to see it expanded mechanically.

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Very nice! Liked the gameplay and the music! Why is there no audio category? :-)
I don't understand how to protect ogres.
Also I didn't know that the attack move existed until I tried ogres and by accident pressed a key twice :-)

domo_demo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:25pm

nice start, i like the gameplay, but what can i do to save the ogre? and arrow are too fast to save every goblins. cool concept!

Tuism says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Solid! I like it despite it looking a bit aged. The game has much more depth than at first blush, it's interesting that it seems your goblins' numbers are limited and the money you make goes right back into maintaining your horde.

I often feel quite ineffective though. The arrows are so bloody fast that covering enough ground to block one is mostly impossible most of the time. It sucks watching a fast arrow track across the whole screen to hit the guys you've protected the whole time. And then seeing that happening over and over. Maybe that should be a bit more balanced, I made VERY LITTLE progress.

On progress, it would be nice if there were more upgrade-y things than just goblins. Ogres are interesting but ultimately they're super random dice throws, you can't do anything to protect them in a game with protecting stuff as the central mechanic.

The character movement could be a bit more natural, and the dash I think could have been more useful. Right now when the soldier comes I go into button bash mode to try and kill it in time. Indicating a hit there would be great, and life bar for them, too.

Overall an interesting concept that needs a bit more tightening up to keep attention :)

Geck0 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Nice idea!

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:54pm

The most addictive entry I have played!

jcsirron says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:53pm

A solid game. I liked the goblin slide-dash.

seigne_m says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:33pm

good game

klianc09 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:37pm

As most people already said: knowing when the dash does damage to the soldier would be nice, and I think it's ok if I can't save everyone, but the purpose of the ogres wasn't obvious to me at first. And having the goal (get 100 gold) inside the game somewhere would also be a great idea, because I just invested all my hard earned cash in upgrades.
Still, pretty interesting game.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:02am

Again, thanks for all the feedback guys! Nick and I are looking forward to putting all the thoughts and ideas to good use!

Boberro says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:28am

Poor ogre, boy's too tall.

rzuf says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:29am

Arrrrgh, made it! 328 regular and 109 greedy ones died in the process but it was worth it! :D (yes, I don't think I'm particularly good at this game) Amusingly fun, but also a bit frustrating cause I couldn't save everyone as it was simply impossible to do so. Regular shield is kinda useless as well as ogres (poor guys, they are just destined to die)
Loved it! Graphics and music were fitting, had a blast beating it. :)

jdoughty says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Glad you made it to the end rzuf! Some of our balance issues make it an achievement in perseverance and tactics! With all my practice I still clock at a minimum of 150 Regular golbins, and I've got 4 hrs of play invested in the game across the build and ports!

Sir Magic says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:47pm

Nice game, I liked the concept and the ideas but I didn't see the humour or the theme as the buy menu was more than one button.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]