Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Son

by Henriq - Jam Entry

Son
“In a world corrupted by the darkness, salvation can not be achieved more by its inhabitants, the only solution is the destruction of these lost souls, so that the world can be purified and receive a new generation. You are the God’s Son, created to fullfil that purpose.”

Controls:

Spacebar - jump/doublejump
X - Attack
Left and Right Arrows - Walk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#274Mood(Jam)3.52
#431Audio(Jam)3.17
#820Graphics(Jam)2.80
#960Overall(Jam)2.74
#974Innovation(Jam)2.30
#1045Theme(Jam)2.50
#1074Fun(Jam)2.03

Comments

terry90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26pm

For other testers, the controls I've found so far are:

Spacebar - jump (x2 for double jump)

X - Fire some sort of element that destroys the creatures (limited fire rate)

Left / Right Arrows - Walk

I like the premise for the game, and the art is decent for the style. However, the story and the gameplay don't match up. I thought that by "absorbing the darkness" I should just walk into the enemy creatures. Part of that is the lack of any explanation for the control scheme, but mainly it has to do with adapting the gameplay to the story. I have no idea what I'm firing at the creatures, and there is no sense of progress other than more scenery to the right.

This can be a great game, it just needs a little love.


Things I liked:

* Introduction story was nice, and with a little more attention it could give the player quite a bit of motivation.

* Art style was a nice mix of subtlety and function.


Improvements:

* Pace the story with the gameplay. Introduce the creature, pause the gameplay and explain what it is, what you need to do, and how to do it.

* Show impact animation, die animation, and give the player some sort of reason to keep mowing through these creatures.

* Vary the eyes animation cycle on the houses so it doesn't look so uniform.

* Tidy up the UI a bit, pause menu, etc.

Henriq says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Wow, great feedback! Thanks :D
I believe that most of the cons were caused by my lack of experience in gamedesign (my first “complete” game) and in ludum dare (my first entry), which led me to make bad decisions that really hurt my time and It prevented me to improve some aspects of the game.
I'll take the mistakes as lessons for the next edition, and frankly, not expect anyone to even stop to analyze my game, it encouraged me so much to go on and surely I will attend the next editions :D

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Interesting concept, but a bit dull, at least at the beginning. Music was very loud by default, so I had to turn it down. Nice work!

powerkraut_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:46pm

This is pretty nice to play in terms of tone. I liked the mood that it created. There's not a lot of motivation to keep walking besides just another line of text, though, so the gameplay got monotonous. It was an interesting experience though, so good job!

kebabskal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Feels a little bit stiff. Graphics are pretty decent. I liked the soundtrack.

There is text saying "Button" on top of the buttons on the main menu,

Big Cow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Liked the mood and colours of this also always like a game that lets you double jump!

anv says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Nice atmosphere (and music choice)! As others said, gameplay could use some mix-up, it becomes repetitive quite fast. Narration could also use some improvement - presentation is mostly limited to text - but story is interesting.

Actually, I wonder if it could work better without any game-ish elements (they feel tacked on now) and instead with more focus on narration only.

puddelipip says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:30pm

I can't help but feel that the story you want to express (which seemed promising) could have been expressed better, I found I just jumped over everything to get to the end.

The mood is good and the graphics fitting, next jam you'll what to focus on more, keep it up :)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:59pm

The gameplay is very simple, with no strategy aspect to it. I don't think it is bad, but for sure it has room for some improvement. It is very easy to kill the enemies without getting hurt. Also, it gets very repetitive after a while.

I really liked the mood, and the music.

triello says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Nice art!

JustASHadow says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:55am

Good cannot be defined without evil... Nice entry, I hope you score well in the "Mood" category.
As a side note, you should have randomized the animation speed on the houses, so the eyes aren't synchronized. Something like
Animator anim = GetComponent<Animator>();
anim.speed = Random.Range(0.5f, 1f);

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:31am

You did a great job of reinforcing that feeling of loss and sorrow and I really liked what you were trying to do here so keep that in mind when you hear my criticisms:

I wished you had focued more on the story and telling it thru the environment. You did this to some degree but rather than drudging thru enemies that walk toward you as you're really just trying to read the text at the bottom takes away from the experience. Let me go into those buildings. Let me read the old blood stained books in the library from The Inquisition or whatever. I want that!

I want to know more about the world-- I get that you're painting in broad strokes here but if you elaborate just a little it makes me care about that world more-- ideally, you dont want to have to put the phrase "was the son's sacrifice in vain?" on the screen-- you want to create that feeling/thought in the player. In fact I think with a little more to explore and a little less text at the very end there you woulda had that in the bag. Like, after you become the bg dark thing when you say "you became that darkness and controlled it" it eliminatd my first thought which was "oh this was a trick by some evil god to make me the force of evil" or "oh there is no way to defeat the darkness"

Sorry for that rant but take it as a compliment that your game made me think this much :)

Dec 25, 2015 @ 12:33am

I wanted to eat a croissant after playing this game.

-Alex

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Can't play windows games, so I can't rate.

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:28am

Pro:
+ Nice concept and story, a lot of potential
+ Audio and graphics give a nice mood
Con:
- Not much of mechanics, some more challenge would be nice
- Music was very loud
- Background was very pixalated compared to foreground
- Doesn't really fit the theme I think

Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]