Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Assimilate

by benjammin1391 - Jam Entry

Grow, shrink, jump and dash your way through the level to reach the end! Assimilate is a 3d platform/puzzle game where the player must grow and shrink in order to navigate levels and obstacles.

Created by:
Ben Coppens
Clayton Andrews
Eric Hardy
Will Powell
Allen Vanderlinde

This is our first ever LD. Everything is made in Unity 5, and none of us are artists so go easy on that please.

While we were a team of 5 we all also have real life things going on, but at any point in time there were 2-3 people plugging away at this. While we ended with only one level we have the ingredients to make a bigger game out of this.

We tried to fit in both themes, as the player movement is coded via axis which technically isn't a button...plus it will allow us to add controller support later on.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#945Fun(Jam)2.56
#971Innovation(Jam)2.31
#1038Theme(Jam)2.53
#1103Overall(Jam)2.31
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10am

Fun game. controls took some getting use to. but I think you have the potential for some great levels with this. good job

Acerio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14am

The game was not that good. You had several grammar issues, including spelling "Ludum Dare" wrong, and you cannot go back to start, if you messed up, and I have to restarted. Other than that, it was a pretty cool game, but it needs a little polish. It matches the theme very well, and I can see it going far if you polish it for a post-compo version.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:33am

A bit raw

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:51am

Very interesting mechanics. needs more levels though.

DBRalir says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:17am

Extremely unpolished. The core mechanics are nice, but the single stage doesn't give an opportunity to explore them. In fact, it's possible to complete the stage without picking up any of the orbs.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Game was really interesting, would of loved more levels and sounds. The controls were a bit hard to master especially on the first level as the ball rolled more than I pressed. Over all nice game!

RoynLimb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:05pm

These are some of my favorite games. I would definitely expand on this if you can! Great job

benjammin1391 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Thanks for all the feedback everyone! The team is already working hard on polishing the controls and the physics. We plan on adding more levels ASAP, as well as finding an artist or two and a sound designer.

Ill update the page with a new version next week. Itll definitely have improved controls and functionality, and hopefully an expanded test level (or a whole new one!)

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:04am

The camera kept going throgh thewalls making it impossible to see. the purple walls were incredible difficult to knock down. there most certainly couldv'e been more than 3 levels.

Dohxis says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:53pm

The game is really really nothing interesting. A blue ball in a white/grey environment. No music, no sounds, no nothing. The game mechanics are weird, not to talk about the horribly made camera control. There is literally an option for unity that the camera wouldn't pass walls. Even though you state you tried to fit both themes, there's not even a doubt that you fail at the two button theme. The growth theme is there but it honestly just seems like a plugin so the game would pass the theme. Also, it really is unnecessary to make me collect all those balls just so I could pass a level. Also, 101%? Really? Overall, a very lackluster game with broken game mechanics, very bad game design and a bad idea behind it. Sorry, if I sound too harsh but it is the truth. The sooner you realize your faults, the better. Keep on making games, improving, reading articles about game design, etc and you'll get there.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]