Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Turbo Tram Drift

by Drury - Jam Entry

How many people do you know whose first game was a tram simulator made in 72 hours with no sounds effects.

Thought so.

Just a heads up, a good way to slow the pace is to brake.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#154Audio(Jam)3.70
#207Fun(Jam)3.56
#261Overall(Jam)3.60
#310Mood(Jam)3.47
#367Innovation(Jam)3.33
#403Humor(Jam)2.83
#491Theme(Jam)3.70
#533Graphics(Jam)3.43

Comments

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37am

Quite hard, interesting though, good music

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52am

Music is great, a neat challenging game :)

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:02am

Just sayin if you liked the music, there's more where that came from https://soundcloud.com/snijboer

Of course used with permission :P

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Amazing game! One of my favorites! Pretty much everything about the game was good: the graphics, the audio, the controls!
It does take a bit to get used to the controls at the start, but once you do, it's great!

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Neat take on the 'endless runner' theme, very challenging. I think it accelerates a bit too quickly though, and the sharp turns made me feel a bit ill. Interesting atmosphere, love the 80s synth ballad soundtrack going on.

Brandondyer64 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Linux - Opens then immediately crashes.

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Welp. Sorry about that. Didn't have a linux machine at hand.

jim3wg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Love the music , the game is pretty hard but i liked it

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Awesome game! I was really digging the music.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Neat concept, though it gets really fast and hard to control or see the trains coming! I made it to 32 seconds though!

Clavus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:19pm

I'm not hardcore enough to reach the end it seems. With the time limit and required speed to reach the end, it's hard to dodge other trains! Nice use of the Two Button theme. Loved the aesthetics.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:52pm

I dont know its just me, but i get a bit nausea in the first playtrought. But meh, i get nausea easy.
This game get hard quickly XD!
i have made a strategy to beat the game. Most of the trains appear as 1 1 2 2 1 1 2 2 (track 1 and track 2)
didnt' work... ;\ 4.8/5

ALSO THE MUSIC <3

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Oh, RNG distributes trams evenly to the left and right rail so there shouldn't be any -noticeable- patterns.

If I were to let you in on my winning strategy, keep to the right. Trams drive in the same direction as you on the right side, moving slower relative to you so you have an easier time dodging them.

Try and find a speed that you feel comfortable with and memorize the position of needle on the speedometer. Then try and keep the needle around that point by drift-braking. Just drive at your own pace a couple of times, making sure to dodge everything till the timer runs out, then gradually increase the pace till you make it. I don't even brake anymore and make it to the end with 10-15 second reserve, which is something I considered impossible when uploading the game. Maybe should have made the timer 60 seconds after all?

jigalx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Love the 80s Terminator like feel to it! Graphics and sound were great. Gameplay was impossible, but good. Maybe accelerate it a bit slower.

socapex says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:42am

On OSX, if it says can't be opened: Open terminal, type "cd ", drag the turbotramdrift.app, add "/Contents/MacOSX"
Now "chmod +x turbotramdrift"
Enjoy.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:44am

Fantastic game, nicely done! Best time I got was 9.62 seconds to spare :P

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:51am

Amazing! Difficult, but I made it to the end.

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:28am

Pro:
+ Great music and graphics
+ Interesting mechanics
+ Challenging game
Con:
- Controls were a bit hard to get, some instructions would be nice too

Great work!

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:42am

LOL, it's impossible to win this game,
If someone made I want a screenshot as proof!

I liked the idea and the music so much!

YOu made a funny game and you also made me curious to see the end!

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:45am

Great game! It did make me a little bit dizzy, but that's a risk in every game for people prone to motion sickness. I love the risk/reward system of speeding up, and that's the most stylish method I've ever seen for a tram to put on the brakes.

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:34am

Damn that music is gorgeous! Great mood too.

This game is haaaard, the first few times I played I got wildly different experiences. Once I had no other trams for about 20 seconds and other times I had tons of trams and no turns. So nice job on the variety and generation :)

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Very cool game! The music is very nice too

Terrabalt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Fantastic game! quite hard to control at first, but it gets easier. I also love the artstyle and music.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Now here's a fellow train game! I also really like the vibe of the music. :)

Took me 1-2 plays to understand i also had to drift in order to slow down. Does being on the inner ideal line of a curve make you accelerate quicker? I guess the thing in the lower left is just a progress bar? Didn't make it to the end so far and got one game over that I didn't understand. Is there a time limit? Also managed to get the train thrown out of one of the curves which was fun! :)

You should add to this! Score and combos would be cool, definitely some sparks when you're grinding and sound effects. The idea of a chase on two train track is pretty fun!

hexagore says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:55pm

FINALLY got to try this. Took me a while to realise that you could use the 'drift' thing to slow down. You squeezed a surprising amount of functionality out of the two buttons. Super hard, but then I expect you were going for that. Nice :)

Drury says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Sparks when grinding are drawn but didn't get in in time. We had some other effects planned but never had the time to implement any.

The score here is the timer. You're supposed to reach the end of the line by the time it runs out. If you crash on the way, you can measure how well you did by it, similar to Super Hexagon. If you do manage to beat the game, you can see how many seconds you had to spare, so you can still improve your lap times, again similar to Super Hexagon.

I'll scrap the timer system once I start fleshing the game out, appreciate the input. Tram chase definitely happening somewhere down the line.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Cool idea. It was a tad confusing at first, but felt great once I figured it out.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:00am

nice... as pointed out in the stream i don´t like the wobble, but besides that great fun

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Quite hard, sometimes really fast.

ajmalr says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Pretty cool twitch reflex game, could do with some more effects and feedback overall but not bad at all for a first game. Nice work!

alvarop says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:18pm

This is Drive meets Train Simulator. Short, but really nice game. I enjoyed playing and beating this game :D

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:51am

Finally beat after a many tries. Fun game once you get the hang of slowing down. I highly recommend pausing and listening to the AWESOME music track. Shame that it restarts and you don't hear the whole thing on loop.

timeshapers says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Music gets in the way because it starts over every time, if it kept on from the same place, it would be amazing.
Game is interesting and fun!

YinYin says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:15am

Needs sound effects!
Stick the camera to the tracks! (you can still make it shake along with the train, just keep it pointed in the direction you are going, not where you are facing)
Maybe consider using splines for some smooth curves instead of 90° street corners only.

There were also a few times where two trains blocked the path and the controls were rather lacking to deal with the situation.

I'd suggest allowing a slow down without hopping onto both tracks by holding left and right (particles and sound will make it evident enough). You could still allow breaking during a multi track drift if it works like this:
While holding left on the left track, adding right will break without any track change. Releasing left during that break will make the back wheels switch to the right track and you can keep breaking by holding left again. Repeat to also switch the front wheels to the right track.
This would look pretty cool for drifting through a corner from the inside track while controlling your speed as well as giving you a bit more control over which wheels you are about to switch (front by only tapping towards the other track, back by releasing the direction of your current track while breaking).

tl;dr: add more control over speed and track switching (front/back) for differing hold/release scenarios of both keys.

Drury says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Great feedback dude

Sound effects - agree

Less camera wibbly wobbly - agree

Smoother curves - agree. This was an experiment that turned up negative results.

I find that due to the way they're generated, two trams lock the path when you go too slow, but yeah, nothing you can do about it right there right then. Kinda bad.

I plan on making it into a fully fledged racer with a proper control scheme, but your two-button control scheme is pretty genius. Wish I thought of that back when it mattered.

Particle effects when breaking were planned along with other effects, but none made it in before deadline. I realize how important especially sparks when breaking are.

YinYin says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:05pm

I'm curious as to what you'd add for full fledged controls. As two buttons really seems to be all you need to have snappy track switching movement as well as breaking. And using shoulder buttons on a controller feels really natural.

I guess you'll simply add dedicated accelerate/break/boost/whatever buttons?

Drury says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Yep, it may seem redundant but I have some ideas for the acceleration/brakes that may be too much for just two buttons. I hope to have a new prototype out by the end of the year.

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:05pm

Fucking excellent. Couldn't beat it though. I think it needs a lower time limit to start off with, and a bit more of a difficulty curve. I think I spent longer playing this than any other ludum dare game :)

As somebody else said I had to fiddle with some permissions to get the mac version to run. You can probably avoid this in the future by using standard zip instead of 7zip, or just not compressing the mac build at all.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]