Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Jail Jammers

by Cyranh - Compo Entry

Note 1: Hold left or right to skip intro and directly start playing!
Note 2: Browser version can be extremely slow unless you are running it on Chrome on a high-end pc! Windows version recommended for best experience!

Theme: Two Button Controls

Description: Jail Jammers is a game in which you have to escape a prison. Funny thing is, you are actually chained to another inmate, so you can only move in circles around each other. Luckily, you can use this in your advantage by chopping of guards' heads with your chain.

Controls: Left and Right (Hold to skip intro)
(Escape to close the game and Backspace to restart)

This is my very first Game Jam so I'm really looking forward to your reactions and feedback. Have fun and thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#34Innovation4.10
#130Humor3.32
#212Graphics3.66
#263Overall3.52
#301Theme3.94
#316Mood3.22
#434Fun3.22

Comments

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:42am

very fun, a bit slow paced though

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:18am

Nice pixel art, love it! I also think it's a bit slow paced, but the concept is great.

MinusKelvin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:19am

I just cannot get a hang of the controls.

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:27am

Really cool and new idea. It felt too slow at first, but you can actually decide which guy to move more easily to checkmate the guards. I love that there was a story/intro and i actually laughed.

Confession: I didn't get very far.

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:55am

The graphics are pretty awesome, but the entire game seems like it's on slow-mo. Every time I die and restart, the game literally starts all over again, including the credits thing during which the truck is just driving down a road.

Also, I remember seeing a game like this somewhere. Forgot the name...

prymidion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:57am

Frame rate on the web player was tough, and unfortunately that's the only way I can play. Graphics are looking great though!

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:28am

Hey dude! Fun game :) I like ur chain bound mechanic haha. The game is a tad slow, thats all i'd say. Otherwise everything else is greeat :)

Niphram says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:32am

Really fun! But the controls can sometimes be a bit slow, i would have preferred it, ich the last pressed key takes priority (which it does, but there is the usual windows delay when pressing two keys at the same time, which makes ist feel slow)

Otherwise: Great!

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:47am

Very innovative mechanics but in practice I found it way too difficult to deal with guards and a bit too slow getting anywhere :( Still, more fun than Prison Architect! Also, when you're going with dialogue to build atmosphere it never hurts to get a native speaker to proofread your English.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:47am

Very innovative. Like, I don't think I've ever played something quite like that before. It was super hard, and I didn't get far, but the idea is solid. Audio would be nice but I can understand the limitations during a game jam. Also, it'd be neat if we could automatically skip the intro if we die after the game has originally started. I literally died 3 times in a row due to officers spawning right next to me. I'm not salty though, I promise. ;)

Good stuff! Best of luck.

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:54am

Thanks for all the comments. I really enjoy reading your feedback! I guess the web player is a bit slow for most people. I recommend downloading the Windows version for a better experience. For people having a problem with the intro, you can instantly skip it from the start by holding left or right!

Thanks for playing!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:54am

Controls mechanic take some time to get used to, but once you have it the game is pretty funny! I actually think the speed of the game is more of a plus here.

Also, intro is lovely =)

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Great game ! I really had fun playing it. And nice graphics too.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Had a lot of fun playing! Only problem I had if i skipped the intro with left arrow I would instantly lose. Very good use of theme.

All in all, A great game.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:45pm

I dig the intro, although it is pretty slow. Gameplay is pretty nice, still could be faster. Like the art. In general, very solid entry :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:36pm

very cool and creative, love how you used the theme, nice job

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:25am

A very fun game, one of the best game I've played so far. The pixel art is great, the dialogues are funny. The control is very hard to get used to but after a few tries I manage to do well with it. The initial number of guards seems to be random and it makes the beginning either very hard or very easy. When 3 or 4 guards spawn next to me in the beginning of the game, there is just no way for me to not die. Another problem is after I get 3 or 4 chains, things starts to go crazy because there is not enough rooms for me to swing through. Good thing the game resets after you get stuck for a while but yea I prefer not get stuck :P However, that's the only two complains I have, it is a very very good game and I had fun. Thanks for making it :)

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:27am

Another thing is I didn't know you can skip the initial bit of intro (the truck bit) until I died a few times. The text saying you can hold to skip intro should appears in the beginning (after the first time).

Cyranh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:54am

@jackyjjc Thanks for your comment! You are absolutely correct, but it's due to time that I wasn't able to test a lot and make the game a little more playable. If I'd had more time I'd have instantly skipped the intro every single time after the first time... But I'm really glad to hear you still enjoyed the game. Thanks for playing! :)

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:38am

@Cyranh haha no worries, I managed to break free in the end even though the chain length is a bit out of control. I freed 1 inmates (the others I freed died because I got stuck and ran into guards :P)

Bjarnovikus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Nice game, a bit too slow but it plays great. Sometimes the guards spawn a bit random = downside and it's sometimes difficult for your inmates to move properly.

ShiftNRun says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:10am

Funny game. Even though the spawn can be quite frustrating with the random spawn of guards. Would have wished to have some check so that you don't get spawn killed. But good job for your fist game jam.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:16am

As a huge fan of prison architect I instantly loved the intro. Great humor, loved the pixel art. Missing music and sound :( But then I started playing and after a minute got a good hold of the controls. Love what you did with the theme. Fun little game, impressive for 48h! :)

Skywilly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:00am

He remind me Whiplash on PS2 ! :P

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Seems like very very interesting, but hard from the very start! Only managed to open two gates!

Yazara says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Really innovative concept and could be really fun with a bit more polishing. Unfortunately it's very hard, especially at the beginning and weird things happened when both pisoners were connected but seperated by a wall.
I think it would be better if you could move both prisoners in both directions and maybe switch between them with an extra key. Or move both at the same time, with 4 buttons.
The art is really nice :)

Waynetron says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:43am

The main mechanic is a unique idea, which is great. But it's quite unforgiving.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]