Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Infinite Runner

by Penthaquill - Jam Entry

This game is all about surviving for as long as you can. Dodge all the growing spikes to survive!
*The spikes grow in size so be wary*
The two buttons to controll the character is W and S, W to change direction and S to slide.

This game is infinite long so try to get the highest score possible!
(Fullscreen is supported)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#552Theme(Jam)3.63
#799Innovation(Jam)2.70
#896Fun(Jam)2.64
#945Mood(Jam)2.41
#1014Graphics(Jam)1.87
#1016Overall(Jam)2.65

Comments

Pontus_LSS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Sweet game bruh! ;)

Beanallean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Cool take on the runner genre. There isn't enough contrast between the player, the spikes, and the background though. Everything blends in with the background which makes it tough to see the spikes sometimes. Good job though, would like to see this expanded upon!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Quite tricky. Actually, I enjoyed it.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Nice idea! I love the wrap around for the runner genre. Good work. :)

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Enjoyable ! nice game, congrats.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Simple gameplay, but cool! The only thing that is a little bit annoying, is the colors, everything is too dark and makes the spikes hard to see.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:52pm

I agree that the contrast between screen elements could be better. It also seems like you should always be spamming slide, so maybe there should be a down side to sliding?

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:01am

I can't rate Windows games, sorry!

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:02am

Quite simple but cool take on the runner genre.

Only two nitpicks:
1. transitioning from a side to the other can be used to avoid things that one should not be avoid.
2. Sliding seems to last a bit too long to be intuitive and, at least I, couldn't really ever get the hang of it.

Alpenter says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:09am

Very cool game and fun to play! (Also, its similar to mine!)

ORECROS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:17am

the "growing" spikes seems like a bit of a cop-out. tied themes SUCK dude I hope this never happens again. There should be an animation for the duck so you can tell when you're about to get back up again but otherwise this is a cool game

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:29am

Nice, fun game :)

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26pm

I like infinite runners and I like what you did with it. My problems with it is your color choices. Without brightness up it's hard to distinguish between some objects.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:30pm

The game ran pretty buggy on my end, the graphics are pretty terrible IMO, as well as not contrasting enough, as it was hard to tell where the player character was at times. However, I did really like the music, so I think you did well on that front.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Addictive but hard. I almost cried raging at this game. Best score 20.

Penthaquill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Thanks for all the comments! The game was supposed to be dark but i agree with it being a little to hard to see :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Good game, just little too dark Still good job :)

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Quite difficult!

JangoBrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:31pm

This game is definitely one of the harder ones, but I like challenges. Quite the simple concept though. I guess you could have expanded that a little :-)

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Ha, small fun game!

Auroz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Simple little game, I did find the colour scheme a bit dark though.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Really a nice funny game ;)

Namek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Music makes it feel it's slow but it's not, it's quite disturbing.

punkto says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:13pm

It's a pity that it is only for Windows...

Penthaquill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Punkto you are really missing out on something ;)

heinoalex says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:50pm

It's a really nice game my friend, keep up the good word ;)

rkhadder says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:06am

Well done

Dohxis says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:37pm

The graphics made me cringe a bit :D. I guess a programmer is just not built to make graphics :D... The idea is okay-ish but there's really not much to this game. Also the music hurts my ears D: . Still, good job on sticking with both of the themes and still making a game that is relatively fun to play! Good job and keep on jamming!

dollarone says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Interesting idea. Really quite hard! Cool take on the infinite runner genre. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]