Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Partners in Crime

by trozen - Jam Entry

Partners in Crime: Play both halves of a two-man bank robbing team! First you must work to steal as much money from the vault as you can before the alarm gets pressed, and then you must get away to your safehouse. One button to control each robber, good luck and get rich.

Created By
- Brent Morris
- Joshua Brookover
- Martin Lande
- Thaddeus Korhman
- Tim Ullrich
- Zach Hiscocks

Music
- "Blue Tuesday" by RubberBandMethod (http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/625171)
- "Shoot Everybody That Isn't You" by WarmanSteve (http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/546917)
- "Elevator Music" by Khuskan (http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/19019)
- "Loopering02" by Djjaner (http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/622422)

Sounds By
- https://freesound.org/people/Benboncan
- https://freesound.org/people/CapsLok
- https://freesound.org/people/ceremonialchapstick
- https://freesound.org/people/qubodup
- https://freesound.org/people/theshaggyfreak
- https://freesound.org/people/UncleSigmund
- https://freesound.org/people/VincePest11
- https://freesound.org/people/WBJB1
- https://freesound.org/people/Zott820

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#89Overall(Jam)3.90
#89Humor(Jam)3.74
#96Fun(Jam)3.77
#102Innovation(Jam)3.81
#116Theme(Jam)4.16
#197Mood(Jam)3.64
#205Graphics(Jam)4.03

Comments

Sokar92 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:27am

Minigames! very funny...

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32am

Really fun! Good execution on the two button controls theme.

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:50am

This makes me doubt my multitasking abilities quite a bit. Nice use of the theme.

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:50am

great use of the two button theme!

carlsommer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:18am

I love the look of everything and the concept. (as well as how you implemented the concept to the theme.)

Docjekyll says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:36am

Nice job!
Great execution on the art. The game felt short but complete--perfect for a game jam game.

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Fun!!!!!!!!!!

Clavus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Great take on the Two Button theme, and lovely art. Fun and polished!

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Really cool game. Loved the multi tasking aspect of the game.

mikedurn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Great job putting two related minigames together to make one game. Works really well for the two button control.

Acuity says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:37am

Hahah nice! The car chase while sneaking minigame is a bit hard...

loxo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Great challenging game concept with nice graphics. It took me a few attempts before I managed to bring some money home.

holgk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Nice game.

herniewise says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:05am

That was awesome, thanks guys!

Terella says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Great game, but boy do I suck at it! Multitask FAIL!

Starspell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:53am

A really interesting game! I was much better at the first phase than the second.The only criticism I have is that you say that the silent alarm has been tripped when we can all clearly hear it in the game :)

trozen says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:28pm

That's the joke!

gloim says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:00am

neat game and really fun :)

Big Cow says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Wow this was amazing! I cant believe you created something of this quality is such a small time. Great use of multiple challenges at a time even with 2 buttons! The audio and visuals add to the humour. Really nice work. Very well done!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:13pm

"I'm vegan!"

Great job guys :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]