Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

StarHarvester

by teeth - Compo Entry

Harvest stars in 3D space.

Built for ANDROID, download here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzMGeZz9TONhU2RIeHBVQld4X2M/view?usp=sharing

PS OH MAN I just realized that this makes no sense in terms of the theme. The original idea was that you feed stars to two lonely button-shaped planets (two buttons and growing!) so that they gain enough mass to attract each other. I ran out of time ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

PPS (12.14 22:53) Added Windows, OSX, and Linux ports!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#282Graphics3.48
#297Audio3.05
#544Mood2.88
#660Humor1.88
#672Innovation2.80
#884Overall2.65
#894Fun2.35
#956Theme2.00
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

timeshapers says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:31am

Super slow on my device, to the point I can't play at all.
Motorola motog2014.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:47pm

ohhhh crashes on nexus7 lollipop :(

Gornova says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:29pm

can you do a windows or desktop version ?

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:35pm

just barely runs maybe too much for mobile? running too many physics checks? I did not check the source code.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:11am

For some reason I wasn't able to properly control the character? Running the Windows version.

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:26am

Runs on Windows. I collected 10 stars as requested, but haven't seen any result. Original way to move

teeth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:43pm

It's actually 20 but I realize that the font makes it look like 10!! I'll definitely pick a different font when I get home from work today, and to everyone who played it, thank you so much!!!
SSJMetroid, could you describe what was going on with the controls in a bit more detail? I'm @staircased on Twitter if that's easier :)

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:29pm

this would be awesome with cardboard, if you wouldn't need input...

teeth says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:22am

I actually started building it for the cardboard originally, but dropped cardboard because running a little slow, if you want to try the cardboard version it's here (just ignore the UI): https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzMGeZz9TONhcmNEc0oxcmFlbEE/view?usp=sharing

eerongal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:24am

Playing on windows, not sure if i'm doing something wrong, but i only seem to be able to rotate my view, I can't seem to look around, even holding control like it says...

Seems like an interesting game, though, too bad you couldn't finish it!

XenosNS says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Played the android version. Enjoyed the use of the gyroscope to navigate in 3D. Yeah, didn't really use the themes though.

JustASHadow says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:20am

Use "Screen.showCursor = false" in the future. Also, some stars are bugged. Other than that, the game is too simple, even for a compo entry and the "Hold Alt to look" thing feels like it's there just so you can have a second button, because there is no reason not to look when you move the mouse. Good luck on the next LD, I'm sure you learned a lot from this one :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]