Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

V.I.R.U.S

by Erwann Depaeuw - Jam Entry

[Tutorial included in the game, please take your time to give it a look :) ]

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Destroying a body from the outside is too mainstream... Try from the inside ! Play as a dangerous virus whose purpose is to devour as many cells as you can and to survive in a hostile organism full of white blood cells who only want to eliminate you ! Spread yourself through the cells you ate and be as devastating as you can !

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Some elements will be fixed soon, that is:
- The game over sound is too loud
- Some font problems that transform a pretty font into a not that pretty Times New Roman font

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Erwann DEPAEUW - game design, programmation, UI and character art

Pierrick BOYET - game design, sound design, UI, character art and environnement art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#377Overall(Jam)3.46
#428Innovation(Jam)3.26
#457Audio(Jam)3.13
#498Fun(Jam)3.18
#651Graphics(Jam)3.18
#691Theme(Jam)3.48
#777Humor(Jam)2.10
#856Mood(Jam)2.67

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:50am

Really well done on the art. The game feels well polished and seems like a finished product.

benjaml says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:08am

Cool game, but I've lost my hears on the game over T_T

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:13am

@benjaml sorry for that, I'll fix that as soon as possible :D

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:20am

Nice!

Reinoso says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:21am

The game is simple, but hear no sound or music ... it would be interesting. But the gameplay is simple and the gameplay has to understand the gameplay itself that's cool too.

NoradZero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:30am

Very nice game! Just one comment through the gameover sound is a bit too loud.

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41am

Nice art and music.
I liked the sense of growing when your cells attacked other cell.
If you kept your mouse still on screen it looked like your virus would bounce in two positions at once instead of stay still.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:04am

@Reinoso there are music and sound though... Maybe some problem of compatibility with your pc / browser ? Gonna check it out. Thank you all for your feedbacks anyway :D

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:14am

Very adictive ewe

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:20am

Nice game, love the fact that you play a virus.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Interesting game, though a tad hard to navigate when hitting the cells makes you stop.

Darkflint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Very good idea and nice converted to a game :)

kmakai says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:13pm

This was fun! After a while I seemed to become invincible though, I had one heart and everything I touched seemed to die immediately. Great job with the music, the design, everything.

OwT says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:37pm

I was surprisingly absorbed by this little game. Cool idea and very easy, relaxing gameplay. Just the sound was really, really loud, but I've read the description so I was prepared for it ;)

Molpe says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:09am

Nice game! Simple, easy and fun! I've also become invincible after a while Ox) I've made a short video:¨

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n-J74o8cKKU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]