Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

An Outpost

by Geukes Colin - Compo Entry

An Outpost.

You are building an outpost. In order to do, you will get a random event each day. This event will result in winning, or losing you the game.

Winning conditions:
You will win the game, if one of the following conditions are met:
1) You reached day 100!
2) You have 250 renown.
3) There are no enemies left (you've killed 100).

Losing conditions:
You will lose the game, if the following condition is met:
1) Your outpost has no sign of life.

Keys:
You can play the entire game by pressing two keys:
Key Right and Key Left. If there is on the screen an "<", you can use your left Key, and if there is on the screen an ">", you can use the right key.

Usage of keys:
At the loadingscreen, you can select your tribe, using keys.
You can choose your actions with the keys, when an event is happening.

Resolution:
I do my games most in this resolution, love the 4:3 ratio. If your monitor can handle a 4:3. I recommend, to keep the screen as it is. But if you wish to change it, feel free, as I've not locked it ;)

Programs and things used:
Programming: Java, Eclipse (Android studio), LibGDX, Jar2Exe, TexturePacker, JD-GUI
Art: PyxelEdit (Font from DaFont.com 100% free)
Sounds: Bfxr, Audacity, FL10. (Sample from Freesound.org, 100% free)

If I continue with the game there will be added features:
1) Weapons and specialized buildings
2) Building upgrade
3) Small actions inside the game itself
4) More moving things(i.e. moles, seagulls
5) Armed villagers.
6) Android, Ios and Html (Android and Ios already possible, only need Touch)

Post Scriptum:
I can't test if OS/X and Linux is functional, but I hope for the best. (as I do not own those, in order to test)
This is actually my first 'finished' game I post after 8 years... And please, if possible criticize c:

TO ALL THAT HAVE ERRORS:
If you have errors, try opening the jar file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#72Audio3.78
#122Graphics3.92
#124Mood3.60
#278Overall3.50
#334Innovation3.39
#438Theme3.79
#536Fun3.08
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

raatmarien says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Hey, the game works for me on ubuntu and it looks great :D. However I got this error while embracing some wizards.

Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" java.lang.ArithmeticException: / by zero
at com.coco.ld34.game.Village.killCharacters(Village.java:207)
at com.coco.ld34.game.Village.addChangedMaterials(Village.java:145)
at com.coco.ld34.game.Village.update(Village.java:221)
at com.coco.ld34.states.Play.update(Play.java:195)
at com.coco.ld34.handlers.GameStateManager.update(GameStateManager.java:33)
at com.coco.ld34.main.Game.render(Game.java:48)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:215)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:120)

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:28am

Very simplistic yet interesting graphics. Good gameplay, still amazed at all these good games that were made in 48 hours

donvermo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:48am

I can't run this on OSX, the link provides me with an .exe file that I have no way of running.

chrizdekok says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:55am

Don't really know how to control anything other than going right and left, but it still fun.
I think the game has a lot of potential and I think you should continue work on it.

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:57am

I had my game crashed once when the 'Science' event happened and I chose 'Invent'.

I have to say I love the graphics especially the animated background. I'm impressed by the amount of work went into it. The music is lovely as well. I love the idea of the game, however, the gameplay is a bit lacking, while waiting for the event to happen, there is nothing to do. It was fine for the first few days because the graphics was great but then it gets repetitive after a while. The events are a bit random, I can kind of guess what the outcome might be but it is pure RNG I guess. However, congratulation on finishing the game! Well done!

ThaRemo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:57am

I really like the mood! The soundtrack and graphics really work well together. The gameplay is not very exciting however, but it's still quite fun.

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:24pm

A pretty interesting game with a lot of replayability!

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Thank you very much on all the feedback. There are some small errors in the events. All the events are hardcoded and consist of alot of lines (496Lines of Event possibilities) The graphic part is a bit boring, I am aware of that. I will continue furthur on this project and add little things (i.e. blacksmith or picking up stones/wood etc.) and changing events (making it more compact).

Error will be fixed in a couple of seconds, and new version will be uploaded.

Thank you very much!

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:00pm

[VERSION 2]
The game is up to date and I hope it's also errorless.

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Got really warm feeling while playing this, I liked it. :) Nice graphics, and kudos for a fellow libGDX user!

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:50pm

"Error java runtime environment not found" upon trying to execute the .exe

Windows 7 64-bit

java -version output:
java version "1.8.0_31"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_31-b13)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 25.31-b07, mixed mode, sharing)

Piscythe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Could not run (Error: Java Runtime Environment Not Found.) I have Win7 and Java 1.8.

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Unable to run on OSX. It opens in textedit with a bunch of gibberish

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12pm

This is the game you play when you drink your morning coffee, because the gameplay itself isn't fast, what makes it easy to play when eating/drinking and same time relaxing to the amazing music and graphics. I would love to see this game with more content!

UncleChris says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:13pm

I tried running in Windows - graphics look cool, but when I try to select either option, the whole thing shuts down. :( I really liked what I could see, and wanted to do more.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Fantastic game, great graphics and an overall fun game. Nicely done :)

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:20pm

I am really sorry for those, that are unable to play the game, I've added a .jar file in the description. My .jar to .exe converter is probably giving some problems..

The game should run on all Windows with java 1.3+, don't know what's the deal with that. But try the .Jar if everything fails.

@UncleChris, I am sorry to hear that, I have not run into any problem like that, could you provide the error log? Thanks for the feedback c:

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:10am

Sorry, I honestly don't know what was happening. Moving around is optional I think? Then I do A or B and I get a few things, but not sure what they are and loop. I see you wrote winning/losing conditions down here but I couldn't tell if I was doing things right or not. Looks interesting and fitting little tune to go along with it, but a bit too abstract for me.

elizeu says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:58am

Nice entry! Beautiful pixel art! Good job

Geti says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:27am

Pleasant. The music was quite high volume and a bit sharp but with the volume down was an ok backing. Moving around didn't seem to do much other than let you look around. Destroyed houses counter seemed broken. Occasionally reported losses of resources I didn't have yet :) Nice enough graphics though some weird tearing issues on the tilemap now every now and again.

EstrelSteel says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:11pm

That music though

Waynetron says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:47am

OSX version doesn't work :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]