Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Omega Llama!

by yumaikas - Compo Entry

Omega Llama is a cross between Missile Command and Space Invaders.
Protect your home from the evil.
Demonstrate your llamaness.

Directions:
Windows:
Is a zip, Unzip then click on OmegaLlamaLD34.exe to run.

Mac/Linux:

Requires Love2D to run. https://love2d.org/

Source:

Inspect the .love by turning it into a .zip, that will show you everything that went into this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#261Humor2.86
#528Audio2.54
#712Innovation2.73
#713Mood2.61
#790Fun2.65
#790Graphics2.45
#792Overall2.83
#796Theme3.26

Comments

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06am

The style and the music are fun. You should bundle the Löve runtime with the file.

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26am

@Deimitri0xFF

The Löve runtime is now bundled in the .zip

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29am

Desn't run for me

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33am

I can't get this to launch (on Windows). I get the following error:

boot.lua:364: No code to run
Your game might be packaged incorrectly
Make sure main.lua is at the top level of the zip

nucleartide says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:36am

Pretty fun shooter. The .exe wasn't working for me, so instead I unzipped the .love file and zipped the contents of the game/ folder, which I could run with Love2D.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:39am

When I tried to run it, I got an error saying something along the lines of "make sure main.lua is at the top level of the zip". There does not appear to be a "main.lua" in the folder.

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:00am

Sorry about the packaging problems. I've tested it and it is working on windows now.

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:40am

Cute llama. What does the rope do?

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:21am

It lets you jump between planets.

gironC says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:31am

interesting... good job!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:42am

hahha! Cute, nice job. I like using the rope to jump about the planets.

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:11am

nice work

daandruff says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:51am

I didn't understand the use of the rope?

timtipgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:19am

I like the idea!
I wish there was some kind of progress involved though. The enemy waves could become increasingly difficult for example. Jumping between the planets was fun, I wish it had more of an impact on the gameplay :)
Good job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:23am

Nifty idea! Had a bit of trouble figuring out how the rope worked, but definitely an interesting take on a classic game. Great work!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:23am

Fun entry. Like the idea of jumping between planets. lots of potential to grow into a larger game good work.

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:25am

@timtipgames

I was thinking of making more progression based on the rope, but I didn't have time to write code to switch the camera, among other things. I may revisit this in a future LD, or soonish.

rxi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Nice to see an instructions screen! This always seems to be something that's overlooked.

Strangely when the game was paused the cursor was locked to the window, but it was not locked to the window when the game was unpaused. The ability to fire while the game was paused also allows the player to shoot a bunch of times, making a layered up sort of "super" bullet which cuts through all the enemies it approaches without stopping.

It didn't seem like there was much incentive to keep all your planets alive -- I found that if I camped on the lowest one it allowed enough of a buffer between the enemies that I could stay alive indefinitely (though I see in the source there is a win screen, so I may have been being impatient or doing something wrong..). That being said the concept of hopping between the planets while they grow, and trying to defend them seems like it has potential. It'd be interesting to see the outcome if you decide to expand on the idea!

Unfortunately I got the following error when I died:

Error: cannot open ./game/level1.lua: No such file or directory
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'dofile'
main.lua:277: in function 'update'
[string "boot.lua"]:442: in function <[string "boot.lua"]:413>
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

yumaikas says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:18am

rxi:

It should all be fixed now. The game is winnable, but it's currently 35 waves long. I'm beginning to realize that without making that specific, most people don't even try for it.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:35am

spaaaaaceee laaamaaaaa! (this is what I was saying as I played, as I don't have sound!)

Nice job!

Darkflint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Fun game, but (again...) sounds way too loud. At least with headset, didnt try other speakers. Somehow, most games this LD have this problem...

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:08am

This game is kinda silly and really clearly unfinished (ex:the rope seems to have no purpose but to extend or retract) but I think there's something here.

If your intent was to make a sort of game thats like space invaders but instead you're defending several planets which you can jump between (with the rope) then I think that's an idea worth exploring so keep it up. However, the growing planets seemed tacked on for theme purposes.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]