Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Jay in Love Garden

by Namek - Compo Entry

Story
==================
Jay just got a new job.
Do all your job (4 levels) and discover New Game +!

New Game+ changes only one element.


How to play a game
==================
wait until leafs grow into big green leafs and then stomp (SPACE key) near the tree. Small green leafs, when stomped, turn into yellow. Yellow quickly become red which is lost money!


Technicals
==================

Java, libgdx, artemis-odb (Entity Component Systems), artemis-odb-contrib


Making of
==================
Actually, my first LD entry. I've spent too much time on building a (very) simple renderer, collision and stuff, since I didn't work on a 2D game for a long time. Quite satisfied about code, especially for 48 hrs sprint.

More about it here - Post Mortem:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/15/jay-in-love-garden-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#240Humor2.90
#571Innovation3.00
#633Mood2.75
#768Fun2.70
#776Theme3.30
#808Graphics2.40
#814Overall2.80

Comments

timtipgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05pm

I had a hard time to figure out a strategy. Once I was able to beat the first level I failed the second one by a few dollars for a few times before I ran out of patience.
I was hooked enough to keep trying again and again though :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:04pm

cool game, very interesting concept, well done

teamross says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:05pm

I needed a time to understand what i have to do, but then it was really addicting.
Nice idea and concept! good job ^^

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:26pm

I just got the same message every time I guess i did not do something right.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Okay, took me a while to figure out. So basically it's a take on the adage "Money doesn't grow on trees" ;) My advice: The first level is a bit unforgiving, maybe increase the time limit a bit.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Really difficult. Apart of that good use of the theme. Alos, not bad graphic and somewhat innovative.

3/5

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:44pm

The game wasn't very well balanced. The first level was brutally short and the second was very long, I think a stronger focus on pacing would go a long way. I liked the animation of the dollar signs changing colors and falling from the trees. The character graphics and walk animation gave me a chuckle!

nikoliazekter says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:46pm

So I beat the game and "New Game+" was the same game with hearts... What did I expect though? Not that difficult after beating two first levels but takes too long to beat all levels.

chaomoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:26pm

i don't understand this game

Robber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:23pm

cool! it's a bit too hard and could use some more variation, like competition from other moneypickers, trees that need water, or birds that steel from your cash bucket or something, but really nice job..keep it up

mikedurn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Funny idea. I want a money tree... Pretty difficult until you get a strategy down.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:07pm

I have no clue on how to beat the first level, let alone change trees :/ It looks interesting though!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:17am

I always got around $992-6 and then was told I made nothing and had to restart.

(BTW: the .jar file in your Win32 link works fine on OS X and likely Linux)

dlowe says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Thanks for the game!

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:24pm

It's a funny idea but I have tried a lot of times and never seem to beat the first level. I don't know if I'm just doing it wrong, but it seems to be very hard to beat your game.

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:44pm

That's funny, I guess money really does grow on trees! Actually though for some reason it reminded me of animal crossing, shaking trees, looking for bells to pay tom nook. Could easily see myself playing it on my phone for at least a little while.

Jajo says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:30am

I thought it was pretty amazing, and quite funny. The rushed-looking graphics could be a result of time constraints, or it was a way to add to the humour of the game. I assumed the latter. I think it was a wonderful game, maybe some coin sounds or something next time?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]