Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Yanush Twofingers

by Lizandros - Compo Entry

Yanush has lost his beer. Come and help him in fight with bad robots using only two fingers!

Controls:
1st player
A - a
B - d

2nd player
A - right arrow
B - left arrow

Note:
It is possible to change keys in standalone version. So if you dont like native you can change them in configuration window.

Some hints:
-make sure you have your shield up for almost all time
-don't try to shoot pushing button in high frequency (however pushing fast three or two times and relase alows you to shoot quickly more bullets)
-the closer grenade explodes to enemy, the more damage opponent take

Have fun! (or not xD)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#502Humor2.33
#740Mood2.55
#762Graphics2.52
#768Fun2.70
#852Theme3.08
#861Overall2.71
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Always cool to have a multiplayer mode. And a pretty fun idea :) Sad there is no music :(

Piode says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Cool idea and quite deep for a game with only two button controls. I was slightly confused at first when the B key didn't do anything - make sure to read the instructions before playing.

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Cool idea. I think I understood how the game is played. But, it would be better if the "Moves List" were shown on the screen all the time. My memory is really bad. Once I kept it on my second monitor the game became really fun!

Also, a list of previously inputted keys would make it easier to do the moves, I guess...

Overall I really liked the game once I understood it, but took a while. Good job!

NecroMac says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:12am

Controls are bit hard to get used to, but can be really fun. Also you have multiplayer!

maartene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:14pm

a bit difficult to control. also, I had to use the "D" key as "B" button.

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:03pm

The controls are odd. Also, I think you need to resize the frame for the embedded Unity player version here? It's cutting off the text that explains that B button = D, lol. I love multiplayer games though, you don't see a lot of them.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:06am

lol when launching the game I thought: wtf are those controls... and then I played with my wife and we laughed for a good 15 mins. In the end we had more fun hammering those 2 keys than anything else. Awesome! Music would have been cool. Single player lacked a bit of depth IMO. Great job overall

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:07pm

B does not work on my computer (azerty)

Japes says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:52am

That was really cool, great idea for the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]