Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

DeepHunt:Procedural gen. survival

by Saivan - Jam Entry

- Randomly generated Procedural Dungeon
- Echo-Based senses
- Survival game

Embody a biological Super Virus and grow to become immune to anything in Deep Hunt, a procedural-dungeon topview game! Explore the human organism in microscopical level, but be careful, this organic labyrinth has no light at all!

Objective: Find the three viral enzymes (colored six-pointed stars) to win the game becoming immortal.

Press LEFT-CLICK to move and use your sonar ability, revealing the path and antibodies ready to purge you.
Your body will burn mass to move while antibodies try to absorb you, so ensure that you absorb enough small cells to keep alive.

Enemies:
- Blue giant cells: Very slow but deadly if your sonar don't notice them.
- Green cells: They will follow and hunt you until finding the green enzyme.
- Red cells: They will charge like a missile. Dodge them or receive massive damage
- Yellow cells: Small and ultra fast but move randomly. Be careful, they can easily enter in small tunnels.

**Totally playable, but currently fixing a few bugs, font and animation due to exporting issues**

Team:
Valter Pilares - Development >> Game Design >> Art
P.C. Ferreira - Game Design >> Development
Rafael Oliveira - Music and Sound Effects
Hericson Gogola - Art >> Game Design

Special thanks to the continuously growing Brazilian indie developer community.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#387Audio(Jam)3.26
#437Innovation(Jam)3.25
#659Fun(Jam)2.98
#720Theme(Jam)3.44
#724Overall(Jam)3.10
#779Mood(Jam)2.83
#815Humor(Jam)1.97
#828Graphics(Jam)2.77

Comments

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14am

PArabens pessoal !

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=37039

triello says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Parabéns! Curti o como o jogo flui.

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Ótimo jogo casual. Ótimo som.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Game is not very clear what everything is.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Looks cool and plays well, love the music! Being able to see based on the particles you shot out was awesome. However, it seemed really difficult to stay at a large mass. The circular enemies that bounced around kept flying at me before I could react, so I never got any bigger -_- Overall, good job!

Indie L says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:34pm

É muito bom ver desenvolvedores brasileiros aqui tambem na LD mostrando seus trabalhos.Ficou muito bacana o jogo feito por vocês,parabéns!

amras0000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:34pm

The game does feature growing as a measure of health, but I don't see how the growing actually affects the gameplay. It would've been nice to have, say, movement use up mass, or to be able to destroy antibodies smaller than you. Maybe even tie it in to the passages you were coming through, where you have to let an antibody damage you to get through?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:34pm

I love the sonar concept!

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Looks nice and plays well. Good one.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Cool game! I love the sonar mechanic.

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Nice game, I liked the sonar idea. It was really tough to stay big though.

icereci says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Sonar was a nice touch. I saw agar.io affect on multiple games in this jam. This was one of the better ones. Overall I liked it.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Reminded of spore and I really like spore. It needs some balancing, specially with speed, but other than that it's pretty fun!

hyperscope says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Title screen was a tad nauseous with all the wavy elements. Enjoyed the sonar element along with the music. "Beeping" sound effect when I clicked seemed to be inconsistent. All in all great job guys!

seththefirst says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:30am

Parabéns pessoal.
Maneiro que vcs pegaram uma mecanica conhecida e deram um up nela.
Curti.

GetDoSed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:35am

I really liked this game! Although it was unclear what everything was, at first I was avoiding the enzymes. xD

zzapp says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:41am

Cool game, overall it was fun, although some enemies seemed to randomly appear on top of me which made it really challenging as they were impossible to avoid.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:16am

Great idea! I was able to beat the game with a little persistence and some lucky dodging of those yellow teeth things. Those are brutal.

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:40pm

I uh.. I absorbed some of the small thingies (which I assume you should do based on the instructions in the game) but instead of growing larger I became smaller. the sonar was a nice touch, but overall I just found this game confusing since I didn't really understand what to gather in order to actually grow.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Original game. Love the sonar mechanic. You guys have made a very addictive game!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Nice game although graphics are not very clear.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:24pm

This looks very nice. I love the attention to small details. The menu buttons do feel a bit out of place, however. But that's not really a big deal. Great game! :)

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:05pm

This game is strangely addicting and very fun! I love the graphics and the music, and it fits the theme nicely. I can see myself playing this over and over again, trying to win. Awesome game :)

Echo Team says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:12am

Sonar idea is neat!

IngritLima says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Caraca, achei muito daora o jogo! Eu apenas acharia mais legal se eu pudesse destruir os anticorpos, para dar mais ação ahsuhaush Parabéns pessoal!

kaype says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:13am

Very solid for a web game

ramoncb says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:00am

The game do have a interesting concept, with the virus and the mass. But I do confess, I don't understand how to play properly ^^'

The small cells should be visually distinct, since they are items. The concept of lose mass in a game where exploration (with all dark and that cool sonar) doesn't match very well. You want people to explore, don't punish them because of that. Even more in a procedurally generated level.

Anyway, good job! Keep working in this game!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:31am

Nice music and artstyle. The sonar takes this away from a more generic growing game, as you do not always know what is coming up ahead. It was a little hard to tell the collectibles apart from the normal obstacles, but otherwise a really nice entry!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:25am

Nice. It's hard to tell what to do immediately, though. Perhaps you could use more diverse colors so it's easy to tell things apart? Also, your game over screen icons are hard to identify.

rafaoliveira says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Thanks guys for the kind replies! We'll work on this game to make it even better, hope to get it ready soon!
=]

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]