Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sumo Master : The way of the sushi

by KanedaXIII - Jam Entry

You have eat for feed.
You must fight for win.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#180Humor(Jam)3.39
#240Audio(Jam)3.50
#254Innovation(Jam)3.50
#366Graphics(Jam)3.71
#403Theme(Jam)3.79
#443Mood(Jam)3.30
#542Fun(Jam)3.13
#705Overall(Jam)3.12

Comments

fafastudio says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:12pm

The first part of your game looks so much like ours !

I found the game pretty hard overall, even if i loved the concept !

thesquigglez says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:18pm

unable to read tutorial, did not fit on screen at default res? fun game with good concept. loved the music.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:32pm

I love the music and artstyle! The audience looks amazing. Defense seems a little bit overpowered tough.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:52am

Loved the style of the game as well as the 2 different phases. Although I had a hard time trying to figure what was going on as there was no player feedback. I get the impression had there been animations for attack and defense I may have been able to understand the mechanics and timing of the game better. When I eventually lost none of the UI buttons worked.

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:13am

The crowd blew me away much better then games even in ps2 era. Two buttons, and two game modes (eating and fighting) totally blew me away. Excellent use of two button theme. The music is freaking awesome too! By far the best production game I have seen so far!

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:44am

A really creative use of both themes, love the concept behind the game! I think the eating phase could possibly be a bit harder, perhaps add in some sushi that has gone off that the player has to avoid? Conversely, the combat phase s really unforgiving. It's brutal. I think the visual feedback could be made clearer, and this would make it much more playable.

alliel_a says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:11pm

nice game

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Hey good good good graphics. Well done!

elizeu says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:52pm

nice concept

Dreyan says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:21am

Took me a while to understand the combat part of the game (I'm honestly still not sure I've completely gotten the hang of it) but the concept is great and it's a nice use of the themes ^^ Graphics were adorable, the fully animated crowd was a very nice touch :D

dregamr says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Cool graphics, cool music, well done. Congrats!! :)

wongcito says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:09am

I really enjoyed playing this game. Reminded me of retro SNES games!

themadknights says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:20pm

Hahaha, nice graphics. Good work.

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Cool idea but that well executed. The graphics are great, it sucks that the font does not feet well.

The theme is a little bit usseless in the eating phase, maybe if food were moving next to the sumo fighter (on his right and on his left) and he could take food either pressing A or D for each side (and maybe some food like vegetables wasn't good for him because they would reduce his strength or something). I don't know...

About teh fighting phase I did not understand the preference system at all. My blue bar was most of the time full and I couldn't contest at all my ennemy attacks...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]