Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Space Colony

by Atridas - Compo Entry

Your Mission is to build a successful colony here on this remote planet.
At your disposal are a series of buildings that you can work to get some resouces. If you buy new buildings using materials colonists will work there and automatically harvest resources for you.



This is a little web game done to learn jQuery and understand idlers a little better. Your main mission is to get as many colonists as you can improving the various buildings you get.

Source code is the game itself, html + javascript :-P

Design / Programming: Isaac 'Atridas' Serrano Guasch
Graphics / Sound: Nobody :-(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2253Coolness17%

Comments

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:43am

Space Sheets!

pixzleone says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Cool idea, but gameplay felt slow. Good job!!

loxo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:51pm

I especially like the possibility to save the game with an url. Would be great to have some graphics to accompany the spreadsheets and maybe a tutorial intigrated into the game that slowly introduces the player to all the elements.

Wevel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Nice game, lots of detail with all the different buildings, would be nice to be told what some things do, such as schools or energy. But otherwise a nice game

piper82 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:21pm

nice to see idler here. now ill have another tab for rest of the night :) you should work on layout because its not very intuitive and some hand holding in beginning would be nice for those not familiar with idlers. good work.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Not much of a fan of idle clicker games but it does fit the theme and I like how you've added a save option.

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Kudos for presenting a different kind of game. Was too slow for my tastes, but a good start for something that could be neat if expanded upon.

SamH says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:57am

An interesting clicker. Here are my thoughts:
- nice to have two upgrade choices each time
- restarting a colony with all the technology upgrades is a good addition
- not fully sure of what education is for?
- energy seems to constantly oscillate between 0 and another value upon each refresh
- I almost never built cities; villages seem to be enough
- there’s not much in terms of a reward, apart from watching numbers grow satisfyingly
- numbers should be aligned to the right in HTML tables

There are issues with the balancing: for instance, some 3rd-generation buildings are very expensive, but they seem to provide fewer resources than 2nd-generation buildings. I have 120 bionics labs (level 59), and they provide 10 times more science than my 40 network labs (level 32). There might be some time when the profit from network labs start becoming interesting, but that’ll be in a very long time and I’ve already spent 2 hours on that game :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]