Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SKYBOUND

by trueboolean - Compo Entry

Welcome to SKYBOUND! You assume the role of a plant that wants to grow as much as possible! Use simple two-button controls to direct your plant to avoid obstacles! Avoid the blue orbs on the way up! Wacky random events will occur, such as fog, meteors, missiles, and smaller orbs! Speed gradually increases over time! How much will you grow?

Language:
C++
Libraries:
SDL2
Tools:
Photoshop, FL Studio 11
XCode, Code::Blocks

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#26Theme4.40
#134Audio3.51
#159Fun3.63
#339Graphics3.36
#359Mood3.14
#401Overall3.33
#433Humor2.46
#512Innovation3.12

Comments

RyanMan56 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:36am

Our games are really similar! :D How did you implement the growing?

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:40am

The growing is done with an array. The first item in the array gets set to the x position of the flower. Then, all of the other items in the array get shifted down, creating a growing effect. Once every x position is set, then the stem below the flower is drawn with lines.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

221! My main question is who in the hell is trying to blow me up! Bunch of jerks man leave a poor flower alone.

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:00am

Nice score! Who is firing these missiles? The world may never know! Its all part of the deep lore of this game, obviously, lol.

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02am

One of the best sounding games so far.

gironC says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:19am

Awesome! Missiles everywhere!

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:20am

nice music

Doctor_N says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:49am

Game can't start on OS X

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:39am

This is exactly the first idea come to my mind when I see the final theme. Nice word with the graphics.

Transmit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:35pm

I was really enjoying this game as a nice relaxing casual thing.... then there were meteors... haha it was fun.

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Simple and good soundtrack, and fun idea!

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Cool game, loved the fact it started nice and calm and then the music kicked in and all of a sudden I'm getting pelted with space rocks. Great job. My best score was 194 and got took out by a missile.

nexust says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:57pm

This would work great as a mobile game, perhaps with support for motion control; I think it could be a success.
The gameplay is pretty solid. There is a nice balance of relaxing and exciting. With some more polish, this could really be something!
Great entry!

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Really fun, the random events helped spice things up and made me want to continue playing just to see what was coming up next.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:52pm

There are a few entries similar to this but nice execution! Love the audio and random events. Laughed a lot at meteorites! nice work.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:27am

The player should fly faster in my opinion. :D

TeamQuiet says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:30am

Went from relaxing to infuriating very quickly, but that was part of what made it fun

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Unfortunately I couldn't run it under OS X due to no frameworks being present. Starting with "@rpath/SDL2_image.framework/Versions/A/SDL2_image".

Under Windows 7 I get a crash (window already opened, white content) with "SDL2_ttf.dll" pointed to as the fault module. System missing a required font maybe?

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02pm

I have seem a lot of games with the same concept but you nailed on the music transition and the level design that keeps the game fresh. I died at the meteors

trueboolean says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07pm

I will try to fix the OSX Version. As for the windows version, the font is included in the resources folder, and so is the proper dll. Your system does not need any required font. Maybe the dll corrupted? Try downloading it again. I'll also make a comment when the OSX version is fixed. I don't know how I forgot to include the libraries in that version.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Cute! Very relaxing guiding this little plant through the clouds, though a little less relaxing once those missiles get involved! Love the dynamic music too -- though the first time I heard the missile bit I jumped! Good job.

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:13am

I happened to find your OS X update post on the front page. It was not working initially. Here's a fixed version:

http://files.benvista.com/ludumdare/34/SKYBOUND%20MAC.zip

These are the changes:

Create an application bundle called LD34.app (which is just a dir). See the zip for the layout (on OS X you can right click on the LD34.app file and choose "Show Package Contents"). The binary is at LD34.app/Contents/MacOS/LD34 .

Move the "resources" dir to LD34.app/Contents/Resources/ (so that there is LD34.app/Contents/Resources/resources/alert.wav)

Move the frameworks in "lib" to LD34.app/Contents/Frameworks (so that there is LD34.app/Contents/Frameworks/SDL2_image.framework/ )

Add a lookup path for the frameworks (YMMV if you're not doing this from OS X with Xcode installed).

install_name_tool -add_rpath "@loader_path/../Frameworks" /path/to/LD34.app/Contents/MacOS/LD34

Add a basic Info.plist (this is what makes the .app openable instead of just opening the dir).

Note that the binary you produced requires OS X 10.11 .

Regarding the Windows version: I downloaded again but the file is exactly the same as well as the files in the zip when extracted. I noticed that the Mac version without the resources dir also crashes in SDL2's TTF lib:

0 org.libsdl.SDL2-ttf 0x000000010e6863a3 TTF_SizeUTF8 + 54
1 org.libsdl.SDL2-ttf 0x000000010e6874a9 TTF_RenderUTF8_Blended + 66
2 org.libsdl.SDL2-ttf 0x000000010e68742e TTF_RenderText_Blended + 101
3 LD34 0x000000010e60965c drawScore() + 334 (main.cpp:26)
4 LD34 0x000000010e609a07 main + 642 (main.cpp:110)
5 libdyld.dylib 0x00007fff8f0f95ad start + 1

I tried making sure the current dir on Windows is the same as where the resources dir is at (which is same as the exe) but that didn't help so it may be a different issue. Not sure what you used to build the sources so I didn't bother trying in MSVC. Anyway, game works on OS X now, so finally... : Nice relaxing game and then BOOM! :D Highscore 197, but only because the first event took a while and then there were 2 "small orbs" events in a row. After that those dreaded missiles. They are too much for me, the meteors are OK (fog too of course :) ).

scorched says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Nice prototype, just needs polish. And add lives or something instead of permadeath :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]