Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow Up

by alexander0153 - Jam Entry

Theme: Two button controls, Growing
Sound and Music: OpenGameArt.org

Gather coins to increase your score; collect water droplets to grow faster, and try not to hit anything. Hold <A> and <D> to control the plant.

Changelog (15-Dec-2015):
- Fixed coins spawning at border
- Added Android version

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#200Theme(Jam)4.04
#231Fun(Jam)3.53
#435Overall(Jam)3.40
#598Innovation(Jam)3.02
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#710Graphics(Jam)3.06
#741Humor(Jam)2.19

Comments

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:27am

Amazing

Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Pixel art: Simple and totally awesome.
Gameplay: I love it, addicted!

JalapenosBud says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 4:00pm

pretty fun :)

Emkiusz says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Cool idea!

Mattress says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Game is very fun! You should put it on mobile, I think it would do very well there. Making the plant connect when you change direction should be a priority if you are going to update this game. The graphics are okay, and I liked them, but they could be improved.

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Suits both themes well and the art is stunning!

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Nice game! One suggestion: it seems that you used key up event to change the direction, did you try with key down? It could make it easier to control by pressing the button instead of releasing it.

Capitals says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Absolutely beautiful graphics the only thing that let you down was the vine. Fun to play, Challenging, Simple. Music was excellent. The only other way I can think to improve this is by adding more content. Good Luck!

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Really nice and innovating game. Liked it alot. It's hard to see anything negative about.
One improvment could maybe to make the graphics better? Even though they were good.

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29pm

It's a nice and fun game. But I have to agree that you should make the plant continuus.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:33pm

A nice little twist on the endless runner formula! The momentum gives a really horrible feeling as you try and turn away from oncoming planes, which is definitely interesting.

Managed to get a high score of 1387 points too, if anyone else wants to compare!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:35pm

I like the control. the pause as you choose the direction of the next section. Then shooting off like that. You can get quite good with practice. Water drops were fun.

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Fantastic work! I had a fun time playing this. I suppose my only feedback is that I was on the side of the world and a plane spawned there and I died without a chance to react. Not a huge piece of feedback, but there it is, heh. Well done!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Simple but efficient :)

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Nice entry, I like the graphics. Some coins/droplets were located on the edge of the screen, and I died from the "out of screen" collision before I could reach them. I also had severe performance issues when the particle effects kicked in on the web player for some reason.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Nice little game

Reccy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Really cool little game, I had fun playing it. :D

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:52pm

This is a very fun game :)
The difficulty progression feels just right.
The controls sometimes feel a bit finicky, but that could also be because it's embedded here (I've noticed this with a lot of web games that are embedded on the LD page itself).

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Yeah, totally looks like something that can go on mobiles. Just tweak the graphics a little bit so that when you change directions it makes a smooth transition of the vine instead of looking cut out. Fun, nice music.

And you also need new art, that coin for example is not your own.

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:48pm

+1 for hitting both themes :)

So I don't quite understand what you're going for - high score or height? Why have two measures? If you added the height to the score at the end it might make it clearer what you're going for.

Because of the ambiguity, the water feels like just something I should avoid to not go faster, because going faster is bad because it makes you more likely to hit planes. But it's presented as a positive thing because it does feel good to go faster. So there's a design opposition between "feels good" and "is a better idea to do". If anything right now growing faster alleviates boredom, as there's really not much to the game if you don't go faster.

So I think there are some design things to think about in this game :)

cudabear says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:27pm

This was a great use of both themes! I'm not a big fan of the art, it would look nicer if the plant was one long contiguous thing. Also, it would be cool if the plant turned as you pressed A and D, not just when you let go! Besides that, I'm glad you made an android port of this because it would be a great time waster on the go. Well done!

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:06pm

REally nice game, quite addictive too!

Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Ey, very original entry, with an awesome feeling. Not much more to say. Nice job!

vortex says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Very nice pixel art, but it is a bit odd that the plant isn't continuous(just goes into another direction without smoothing)...

Tselmek says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Pretty addictive gameplay, more visual feedbacks and a few polishes could make a cool mobile game out of this.

pzeronow says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:19am

Nice entry. I would've made the "grass trails" overlap onto each other to cover the weird spot they leave but other than that, the game is pretty engaging.

Ryno_Man says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:41pm

Awesome Game, hope you keep working on it!!! :)

gallerdude says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:34pm

Simple and fun. Oh no, the plant's worst rival: PLANES?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]