Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Kimmirut Chasm

by Max Amaden - Compo Entry

The Case of Kimmirut Chasm - A text-based adventure, inspired by the fiction of H.P. Lovecraft's Cthulhu Mythos.


December 17th, 1921 - A chasm has been unearthed in the Canadian wilderness after a minor earthquake in the area. You join an expedition team to investigate the geological wonder, travelling to the nearby settlement of Kimmirut, a recently founded trading post. Hastening to begin the expedition before the brewing storm hits, you and your team set out towards the mysterious formation.


Made in 48 hours for the Ludum Dare 34 gamejam themed 'Two Button Controls'.

Created Using:
+ Unity 5
+ Visual Studio
+ Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#103Mood3.69
#252Graphics3.56
#401Overall3.33
#674Fun2.88
#732Innovation2.70
#781Theme3.29

Comments

Wevel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:00pm

NOICE

Elite_Flibble says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Nice artwork and stayed true to Lovecraft's techniques. The choices you make really affects the outcome of the ending. A crazy plot twist is also introduced which makes for a fitting end. ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Well. TL;DR hehe.

But seriously. The game has great artwork and runs very fluently. One "problem" with it is that it targets a specific group of people. And most people won't enjoy it because of all the text and lack of action. But if you are one of those people that enjoy these kind of games, it's really good.

Good work

vortex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Man I hate reading... You'll realize how ironic that statement once you look at my game :)
I'm looking forward to looking through your sorce code to see how you made your game...
I didn't really like the story, because it's so unclear what's going on... What the hell are those creatures? I want to know!
I liked the little pictures that went with the stories. nice artwork

SadSmile says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Nice story and nice game. ^^

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:16pm

My friend, who is an aficionado of Lovecraft's work, thoroughly enjoyed this game; I had fun as well, but she tells me I can't appreciate it correctly given my lack of knowledge on the subject. The mood was immersive and true to type. I wish, however, that there were more choices involved throughout the storyline.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:44pm

cool story telling game. It has got a really nice artwork and a good text presentation. But you need some sound fx or a ambient music in the background. Will play it twice cause I need the time to read all the texts. Good Job!

Max Elmore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Nice game, a lot of text which was very interesting. I feel sorry for the lack of sleep you had but the story is well written and the artwork is cool. Good job

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Very nice! Some kind of ambient soundtrack, even if just random noises slowed down by 800% or something, would have added quite a lot I presume. But the content that's there, both the narrative and the pictures, is really good.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Unity's web player isn't compatible with chrome :|

Farelle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:38pm

like some of my previous posters said already some ambient sounds like wind howling or tavern chatter etc. would have been nice touch while reading :) Also I have to say the text was sometimes hard to read, I think mostly because of the font, the writing was good :)

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Nice artwork and the story is captivating! I wish there was some music tough, it would have helped immensly to create the right athmosphere! Keep up the good work!

marod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:01am

Great game and great artwork!

Kerdelos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Great game! Love the atmosphere!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Story games aren't really my thing, but I still enjoyed it, mostly because of the illustrations and the story was catchy. Knowing that it's not easy to write a good story, I think it's very well done.

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Nice artwork, creative way to explore the theme. Would be cool to have background music or some animations (such as monsters).

Good job!

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Fun, but I would have enjoyed multiple endings.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:45pm

I really enjoyed the story and the graphics. Those little pictures definitely made it more enjoyable!

My only suggestion would be to pick a better font. I know the one you currently have matches the theme but it could be saved for titles and larger text. Once it gets smaller it starts to get illegible.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:47pm

This is very well written! I'm impressed. It's also a nice take on the two button theme.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:17am

Alright I've read almost everything from H.P. Lovecraft, you can imagine how nice was my experience with this. I can't give you less then 5 stars for this mood,sorry :D

Pilly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Haven't read Lovecraft, but definitely enjoyed this.

I can't really put my finger on why, but I really loved your illustrations. Simple but conveyed the mood very well.

One small thing that I feel would really improve the mood: consider changing the background/text color. I feel like a dark background color (especially during the "descent" part) would really add to the sense of immersion.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]