Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Himawari (ヒマワリ)

by logorrhea - Compo Entry

You are a sunflower (ヒマワリ), and your goal is to grow as tall as you can! But watch out for the birds, they'll want to eat you!

Maneuver the sunflower left and right with Left and Right arrow keys or A and D.

** Important **
Please use one of the native builds, if possible. The Unity WebGL export seems to not be playing nicely with several of my assets.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#111Mood3.65
#135Audio3.50
#418Graphics3.21
#446Theme3.78
#491Overall3.22
#667Fun2.89
#773Innovation2.61
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:00am

I love this xD It's so simple, but the graphics and music just pull me right into the game. It's super relaxing too! Good job! :)

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10am

Nice job! It seems we had similar ideas for games! The music is relaxing.

OdnetninI says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:50am

I can't get it work on Linux, no errors on output :S

logorrhea says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Sorry Odnetninl, I should have tagged that as untested. I'll play with it tonight when I get home and see if I can't get a working build.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Really nice aesthetics. A simple concept, well executed.

mlepage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30am

Nice and relaxing. It didn't seem to get more difficult?

AwfulMedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Nice work! The graphics worked well and the music was spot on. Pretty fun little game. I just wish as time went on the difficulty would increase. Maybe increasing the speed of growth, speed of the birds, spawn rate, or all 3? I think that would be a good addition.

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Quite relaxing :)

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:02pm

The music is really soothing and sets the mood well. nice game!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:32pm

It's really basic and fun! Graphics and music are great too! Nice game!

Thanks for playing! Yes, the colour changing was to distract the player, sorry, I should have warned you guys about flashing colours. :D -- My response to your comment on my game.

Skruffye says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:21am

I liked the idea behind the game, but the way in which the birds spawn more often than not left me with no possible way of proceeding, which was frustrating.
That said, the music was nice and relaxing and, had the birds been a bit friendlier, the core game was itself pleasantly calm. :)

SoulBound says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:49am

I love the music, it fit the game perfectly. The graphics are also beautiful. Nice work!

euske says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:39am

ぷりてぃ しんぷる ばっと ないす あんど ぴーすふる あともすふぃあ

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Sometimes, birds come in off the side of the screen when it's too late to dodge them, which seems unfair :( Also, the hitboxes in general are rather unforgiving..

Otherwise it's a nice little game. Music is quite nice too!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Plays simple, but certain things feel like they could be polished more. The birds seem to have a really large collider, for example, and I kind of want screen-wrapping so I don't end up being cornered to one side of the screen.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]