Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Swield

by laFunk - Compo Entry

A (or left arrow) to ATTACK
D (or right arrow) to DEFEND
You can Parry (Just Defend) by defending an attack in the last moment
-
Thanks for playing!
-
Super short game made in 13 hours! This is my first jam game ^_^
-
AS3
Tools:
code - FlashDevelop
graphics - Fireworks
music - Reason
sfx - as3sfxr
-
Libraries:
Starling
Starling-filters: Pixelate

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#165Graphics3.81
#181Mood3.46
#248Audio3.15
#263Overall3.52
#282Theme3.96
#344Fun3.33
#382Humor2.58
#571Innovation3.00

Comments

David says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Awesome graphics (i really love the animation of the character). I find the controlls a bit irresponsive (but maybe it was intended that you can´t block instantly after attacking) But a nice short game!

Prox says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:35pm

I'm disappointed, I finished the game but I didn't get any end screen :(

The sound design should be in a better adequacy with the rythm game mechanics.

But it's really nice game, I need more :D

Khamekaze says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Really cool concept, and the graphics were damn nice :D
Got my ass handed to me though haha

danieldsj says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:53pm

This game was very well put together! This is the best game I've seen so far! Good job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Really cool the first time I got a just defend, I like that that was put in, I am disappointed there wasn't more. Or maybe just an infinitely scaling death character.

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Amazing entry! Loved the graphics, music and mood. Was also very short and fun!

DMinsky says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Nice) Don't forget to use shield!

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:36pm

I really liked the graphics. Fun game, nicely done :)

adamgryu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Nice! Reminds me of Dark Souls some with the style and parrying. I think it could be improve with more clear animations for the enemies, and more variation. But nice, anyway :)

SadSmile says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25pm

too short but its a very nice game

LabOne says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Nice entry. Control feelings are solid. Game is userfriendly :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Excellent idea and perfect execution :)

jachepe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Cool game! but one of the enemies never let me attack, he continually attacks me.

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Nice graphics. Last boss was hard. Couldn't predict his attacks, so I lamed it. hit-defend, hit-defend.
Good game.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Sweet but kinda repetitive.

Piode says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Really nice game. The art looks amazing and the gameplay is fun and unique!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:40pm

SIimple but engaging game. I feel that the gameplay is easy to exploit once you get the hang of it. I really like the pixel art graphics.

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:20am

Very original idea and nice pixel art!

Congratulations for your game!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Really not bad for your first LD ! Simple game with effective minimalist gameplay, graphics and sound, well done !
And hope you'll join the LD jammer addicts. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]