Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

fungus fungus fungus

by MattWoelk - Jam Entry

Simplest Area Control Game!

Use a joystick to grow in that direction. Make sure to wiggle!

1-4 players! (controller required. missing controllers are AI)

by @MattWoelk and @uberben

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#308Innovation(Jam)3.42
#356Theme(Jam)3.84
#537Graphics(Jam)3.42
#572Overall(Jam)3.26
#602Fun(Jam)3.05
#779Mood(Jam)2.83
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:03am

Awesome submission! I love the controls, and it's impressive what you've accomplished with the AI. The graphics are also great!

smoreley says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:09am

Neat idea, the AI were quite easy but I could see this being fun with some friends.

Kudos for nailing the growing theme, not really sure about the two buttons since there were no buttons (other then the reset button) used in the game :D.

kostak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:17am

I played with wife, the TV image is stretched, but there are interesting moments. Good luck!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:12am

pro tip: wiggle! (what does that mean? smash randomly in every direction? well lets try that) *1 minute later*
Player 1 wins! yay
Nice game mechanics in this game, and im glad I could play against AI too :)

local minimum says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:22pm

I really like the idea, even if the controls was one furious wiggle-session (not typically to my liking). Really enjoyed the art style and the setting. Would have been so nice to have some growth-related music. Maybe a tune build from four tracks, one per player and have the current score be reflected on the volumes. It would also be interesting if there was a way to increase the level of dynamics in the playing field as there's a very short early phase when one grabs land (very important) and then one defends that land. More or less. Cool entry though.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Nice use of theme, I never thought watching mould grow would be so fun.

Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Interesting concept & mechanics. I didn't really want to hammer on my gamepad analog stick too much, but still managed to win. Think it could be more interesting to not rely on wiggle so much, but don't have any idea how that would work.

bakudas says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:49pm

very good idea

amras0000 says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:09pm

It's definitely an interesting submission. It was definitely a bit tricky to figure out what was going on exactly, since it seemed random whether pushing in a certain direction would expand my fungal empire or just waste the lives of by back row soldiers to no real effect. I'm not sure if the AI was just really good at countering or if the overall size of the population changes the calculations there.
The game's very difficult, at least against the AI. Seems like the best strategy is to do a landgrab and avoid fighting for as long as possible. Not sure if that's the intention.
Overall, this is definitely a very cool area control games, but I'd like to have a bit more feedback on what I'm doing or how the game's resolving the border conflicts.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]