Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

PWANET PWOTECTOR

by cilerba - Jam Entry

PWOTECT YOUWR PWANET!

Use your space ship's mighty space gun to blast away incoming asteroids, and evil aliens! But be careful! You do not want to shoot the happy Stardust that wants to come land on your planet! The Stardust makes your population GROW! Pull the Stardust in as fast as possible and get the high score!

Controls
Left Click = Shoot!
Right Click = Pull!

Windows Only!

Art: Max Cordeiro (@cilerbaa)
Music: Mike LeRoy (@TheSr101)
Code: Nathan Ranney (@RatCasket), Bret Hudson (@BretHudson)

December 15th fix: Corrected a crash on the itch.io build (Game Jolt API related) and also changed "PLAY" to "PWAY" on the menu (how did we overlook that?)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#10Overall(Jam)4.29
#19Fun(Jam)4.14
#26Graphics(Jam)4.64
#46Mood(Jam)4.13
#88Audio(Jam)3.93
#127Theme(Jam)4.14
#132Humor(Jam)3.57
#367Innovation(Jam)3.33

Comments

Sink says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:42am

cute arcade style game! It is fun and gets pretty challenging i liked it nice work

Fervir says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:08am

Really fun game.
Everything was nice and felt comfy.
I feel like the aiming pointer thing on the planet helped a lot with the aiming, and felt like a nice design choice that would have normally been overlooked.

Gabe_Fern says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30am

You guys made it really good!
The gameplay, the art, the sfx, the cuteness, you did just good, nothing to complain about. Perfect feeling!
Congratulations folks!

nodens says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32am

Maximum adorable. Quite challenging, but I enjoyed it. It did crash when I collected 50 little friends, but I still had fun. Excellent work :D

Crash message:
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object gameController:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get -5.gj_id_highscoresmax(100026, -2147483648)
at gml_Object_gameController_Step_0
############################################################################################

diest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:00am

Yes! only problem is I had some trouble knowing what I was suppose to suck in and what I wasn't, but I loved it!

fishtrek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13am

I adore this - super cute art and I loved the gradual build up of the soundtrack layers. Will definitely give it a share :)

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:23am

Pretty good! Addicting as hell. :P

wine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Addictive and cute :) Love it!

Eldraev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:53pm

This game is adorable. The pixel art is great and the little animations are cute. The game-play is fun as well. Although I think the Time Trial is a good idea I wish there was an endless mode included as well.

Eldraev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Please disregard the last part of my previous comment. I'm just really dumb sometimes.

Acorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:59pm

this is absolutely delightful. I got a fatal error when I beat "play to 50" on the windows port, but it didn't interfere with the actual gameplay at all so I don't really care!

teeth says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:17am

This game made me feel so happy :)))
I wasn't really sure which things were stardust and which weren't though...

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:57am

Cute, not too hard but not too easy. As some have pointed out, crashes when you reach 50 population. Other than that, good job!

rabbit says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Does it crash on the GameJolt client or the itch.io client? We are trying to resolve that issue.

Hegemege says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Enjoyable game, solid controls! A little repetitive and RNG heavy for time trial, but a solid piece. Loved the art style!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:08am

this is a funny and lovely game! really cool

Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:37am

Nifty shooter with some adorable graphics and sounds. Kind of easy to die early on and hard to die later on which is a bit on its head, but the controls are solid. Although, I would have liked a fullscreen option because I kept clicking away from the window. xD

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:11am

very well done - very polished - controls were awesome and it felt like a great game - added to my favorites

Zyow says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:00pm

So cute and fun! Nice work!

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:48pm

I did it! :D
Very polished and awesome entry! Great effort and well executed! :D

Tselmek says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Adorable yet very difficult game, everything is polished as one could wish, kudos for that.

kmakai says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 9:12pm

What an adorable game, I really enjoyed playing this. The cuteness of it all was a nice offset to how frantic it got when there were tons of things on screen. The design of "shoot, but don't hit the stardust" vs. "pull, but don't pull the enemies" was a great twist for this, and it fit the theme nicely. Not to mention everything from the menus, to the sprites, to the music was beautiful.

Congrats!

bakudas says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:50pm

nice job here!

randomhuman says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:48am

Fun game, looks and sounds great. Good job!

Pixel-boy says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 3:02am

All is so cute in this game :D fun to play, cool art, nice audio, what more can be said ? well done guys !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]