Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Speed Sid

by tribrain - Jam Entry

Play as Sid The Seed and Save the World!

Press
Enter to jump

arrow (down)
to barrel roll

Dowload Link also here!!
http://tribrain.itch.io/speed-sid

PD:
We uploaded a post-Jam version on the web page.

CHANGELOG

SPEED SID v.1.1
Fixes:
1-Improved performance.
2-Fixed controls/ Barrel Roll line.
3-Parallax texturing.
4-Intro skip enabled.
5-Speed Sid is now available to OSX!

To do:
1.The game is not loading levels correctly, it is repeating level 1 on ALL levels.
2. Repeated sounds.
3. Fix collider bugs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#321Audio(Jam)3.36
#480Graphics(Jam)3.53
#585Humor(Jam)2.54
#602Mood(Jam)3.11
#626Theme(Jam)3.56
#743Fun(Jam)2.88
#748Overall(Jam)3.06
#974Innovation(Jam)2.30

Comments

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:33am

A couple things first:
a) The "Web" option is generally used for "Web" games, rename the option to be "Website" if you're directing people to your (downloadable) game's site.
b) In order to get more ratings, you need to play and rate others games!

With that said, the art was wonderful, and overall this was a good entry. I'd like to see more responsive controls, especially for the down control. Also, the intro was a bit obnoxiously long, and with no way to skip to the next frame, this made me sad.

Indie L says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Very cool!The graphics and the history are amazing!

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Really liked the intro art style. The music was very nice, and I was pleasantly surprised to get different tracks for different levels.

The actions felt like they had some lag which was a bit frustrating, along with the inability to control the jump height/distance. The rocks also seemed to have some awkward collision behavior which added to the frustration while I was still learning the appropriate timing.

In the spots with the powerup followed by scorpions, is it possible to jump through the two scorpions stacked one above the other? Because if not, it makes the powerup absolutely necessary, and if the player accidentally jumps over it for whatever reason, then they've essentially lost, as they have no hope of getting past the scorpions. Missing the powerup should make it harder, but not impossible. And putting the powerup in one of the split sections of the level would give the player a decision of taking the easy route and missing the power up, or the harder route to get the powerup and make the scorpions easier.

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Hello andy, thanks for your observations, some of the deficiencies of the level design are about lack of time and some bugs that we are working on! The powerup- drops are intented to be in split sections as you well said, to force the gamer to make decisions, it will appear like this on the corrections. Thanks and regards :)

sirono says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:07pm

I can enjoy it for a long time. But it is some bug with colliding the wall, good try.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Ability to skip text would be nice and improvement of the jumping mechanic so it isn't so easy to get stuck mid jump.

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Interesting little game! The game mechanics were generic, but entertaining, and the graphics and soundtrack were really well-done! Keep up the good work!

Big Cow says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Wow character logo and background designs are beautiful. Lovely theme tune. Great take on the theme. Reminded me of bit trip runner.

Taldius says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:16pm

This game looks good, I love the design of the main character. However, it feels too much simple and buggy (I've been stuck on the wall a lot of time).
Anyway, good job.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Dope soundtrack, gameplay is ok but i ran into some bugs. In overall solid game.

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:22pm

nice art style for the scenery. the "barrel roll" wasn't very responsive and the jump was a bit frustrating... but I think you are aware of those already, other than that good job, it's a fun jam game.

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:00pm

This game is well polished and with the story cinematic, it sets the mood really well.

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Wow, way more polish in the intros and levels than I'd normally expect from a LD game, well done there! The art style was great, and the music(especially those in the intro video) was perfect. Unfortunately I was consistently running in to some collision issues that made getting over obstacles a little difficult. But still a strong entry!

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:35pm

thank you all for the good feedback! :)
hopefully we will be uploading the corrections soon (level colliders and bugs basically)

arseneauol says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:54pm

the music is great but maybe it's not enough longer
graphicaly the backgroud is beautiful but the ground makes it dificult to play

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Ability to skip text would be nice and improvement of the jumping mechanic so it isn't so easy to get stuck mid jump.

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:13am

The controls were a little bit difficult, and I wish you could go a bit more quickly through the intro. The music and graphics were really good! I think the gameplay needs to be made a bit better, though.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:15am

I got the Mac version but I had to `chmod +x` the actual binary to have it run, this is because RAR doesn't store unix permissions properly. If you have a sec, please replace the RARred OS X version with a zipped one, that'll work.

Aside from that I liked the art style and normal/battle music. I have vanquished the stone scorpion placards, I assume. Intro was good too, I'd have liked it if I can jump to the next screen without skipping the whole intro as I can read English quickly. For example with space go to next screen, though I get that it was timed to the intro music as well. Did I mention I liked the music?

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Very nice, this game looks very cool!

Studiosaurus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Could've done with a lot more challenge, I mean, any at all really :P Obviously you took inspiration from bit trip runner, but what that had was sharp, precise jump arcs and collisions, where perfectly timed button presses were necessary. Maybe you'd planned all that and those two levels were just intended as the warm up, I get that. Even bit trip runner starts off very easy. I didn't think the scorpions added anything. I'm guessing you didn't make the music yourselves? You should credit where due. I liked the backgrounds.

tribrain says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Greetings Studiosaurus,as you well noticed yes we have a problem with the levels and we are working on them, it is supossed to be the first level to learn how to play. We have corrected some bugs in v1.1, we invite you to test it of you like. I guess Bit Trip runner wasn´t done at perfection in only three days so..

About the music, you can read on the credits who composed it. Greetings

Volatile Dove says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Pros: Very impressive for a Ludum Dare! Nice introduction, also.
Cons: a bit frustrating.

jachepe says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Good game and I like the graphics. Maybe need a little fix for some bugs with walls.

Pilly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Nice little game. I felt the graphics and music went together quite well, and really established the mood. The level design felt a bit repetitive, but I found myself playing till the end since I liked the music so much.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Nicely done. I particularly like the intro, it is very slick, and character animation and background designs. I didn't see the point of the scorpions at the end of each level though, since they couldn't hurt you.

Shivur says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:17am

Beautiful game!

Wevel says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:56am

Interesting game, the levels get a bit repetitive after a while

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:38pm

oh, we have same minimal clouds :)
good graphic! well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]