Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Korruption

by Andarilhoz - Jam Entry

You are a powerful wizard that was designed to bring balance to the Forc.. world,
with that in mind, you should defeat the evil, but without letting corruption grow in you.
Luckily, there are some crystals cleanser around (:

Instructions:

-To walk, press the right button
-To attack, press the left button

-The red sign shows the closest Enemy (Follow the red sign to get to the closest enemy)
-The blue sign shows the closest Crystal (Follow the blue sign to get to the closest crystal)

-Watch out for your corruption Level, if they get to high you die...
-Corruption grows as you kill enemies, so be careful
-Get crystals to lower your corruption level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#299Audio(Jam)3.41
#344Overall(Jam)3.50
#356Mood(Jam)3.41
#397Innovation(Jam)3.30
#515Fun(Jam)3.16
#537Graphics(Jam)3.42
#743Theme(Jam)3.40
#784Humor(Jam)2.08

Comments

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Nice game. I particularly liked the rage mechanic.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Very nice entry. Has lots of potential to be expanded upon.

Juin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:36pm

The art was really nice, but the gameplay kind of lacked a sense of purpose.

rzuf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59pm

I like how the music changes the angrier he gets. Destroying the orbs feels nice and powerful. :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:11am

Neat game. Very cool having to balance the two opposing mechanics. Looked pretty good as well. Excellent work!

djfariel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:15am

Unfair, I wanted to hear the corrupted music and that tended to get me killed. Fun game!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:17am

Very nice game. Would love to see this idea developed more. :)

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25am

For sure, nice gameplay, the music when CL meter goes down would pop into a musical part sometimes and smoothly transition.

ZM-JW

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:31am

Really solid game! The art is quite amazing.

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47am

Cool game, I liked the basic mechanics. The dynamic soundtrack was awesome too :D

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Really nice game! I love the artwork and the corruption mechanic makes the game really interesting! The soundtrack is pretty cool too, so keep up the good work! I look forward to seeing your next submission!

Green Soda says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02pm

rage mechanic is great! had fun playing this :D Looks nice as well ... Good job!

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:24am

Interesting mechanics and art, well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]